All guides: Company and Industry Information: Key resources

Recommended databases

Coverage is worldwide, unless noted otherwise. Please note that Company reports are not scholarly but are credible sources of information.

IBIS World
Australia and China
Specialises in company and industry research. The reports and analyses include key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, a five-year forecast, major industry participants and more.

Industry Reports (Australia and China)
Company Reports (Australia)
SWOT analysis

Passport
Provides in-depth analysis and a substantial set of data, including statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. The focus is on consumer goods.

Industry Reports
Company Profiles
Consumer Profiles
Analytics, including forecast models

MarketLine
Comprehensive reports on thousands of international businesses. Company reports include company overview and facts, business description, key employees, and a SWOT analysis. Industry profiles include market size, share (global or regional) and segmentation data, analysis, leading companies and 5-year market forecasts.

Industry Reports
Company Reports
SWOT & PESTLE analyses
Industry and Company Case Studies
Country Profiles
News dashboard

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Covers all areas of business with a large collection of scholarly business journals, trade journals, industry magazines, industry & market reports, and other business information resources, including Wall Street Journal online.

Industry profiles
Company reports
SWOT analyses
Market research reports
Case studies
Trade publications
Academic journals
News source

ABI/INFORM Collection ( via ProQuest Central)
Features over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world

Journal articles
Trade Journals
Company reports
Country reports
Industry reports
News
Working papers

WARC: World Advertising Research Center
An online marketing information service covering marketing and advertising. Search by industry, brand, location or marketing topic. Includes company reports, global media costs, and strategy and pitch toolkits.

Journal articles
Case studies
Consumer information
Trend forecasts
Company reports
News

Factiva
A global news and business information service, with most material available in full text. It has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research. Factiva has exclusive rights to the Australian Financial Review & the Business Review Weekly. Access is limited to 5 concurrent users. If you can’t get access, try again later.

Industry Snapshots
Company Snapshots
Market Data Charts
News source

Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest)
Conduct research with information from these three sources: Hoover’s Company Profiles, OxResearch and Snapshots. Use Advanced Search to select research type.

Company profiles
Industry reports
Market reports
Market research

DatAnalysis Premium
Australia
Provides a comprehensive current and historical picture of ASX listed and delisted companies. Also includes extensive financials and calculations. Users can access financial ratios, as well as detailed breakdowns of company revenue and expenses. Extensive current and historical corporate data include ASX announcements, floats, dividend history, and listing rule waivers.

Annual reports
Company reports
Financials

Connect 4
Australia
A collection of specialised databases providing documents and customised reports relating to companies listed on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX). It includes:

Annual reports
Company prospectuses
Bidder and target statements

News sources

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest)
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream offers access to leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers.
Factiva
A global news and business information service, with most material available in full-text. It has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research. Factiva has exclusive rights to the Australian Financial Review & the Business Review Weekly. Access is limited to 5 concurrent users. If you can’t get access, try again later.

Annual reports

Australian Public Company- Listed on Stock Exchange (ASX)

Annual Report Collection (Connect4)
Australian listed companies, includes BoardRoom Review, Company Prospectuses, and Mergers & Acquisitions.
DatAnalysis Premium

Non-Australian company annual reports

See the Websites section in this guide.

TIP: A company's website is often a good source of information about their latest news, developments, new products etc, but be aware of bias. Public and not-for-profit companies may also offer access to annual reports on their websites.

Search for business names

ASIC Connect - Search ASIC registers
Search for registered and unregistered Australian business names. Can also search for a registered charity. Link to search NZ companies.

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

A lightbulb over a laptop, with a lightning bolt pointing to the brain inside a head.

Library subject guides

Company and Industry Information

Need help? Ask the Library!