Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication Design and Graphic Design

This guide showcases the major resources available for research in the field of communication design, as well as graphic design. Use databases and LibrarySearch to search for academic journal articles, as well as books and ebooks, conference papers and tr

Recommended databases for research

Learn new skills with LinkedIn Learning

Resources for creating

Adobe Creative Cloud - Students in some RMIT courses and programs get automatic access.  
 

Awesome Design Tools - Comprehensive list of tools including such as font libraries, stock photos, colour pickers, accessibility tools, animation tools, logo design, and more.  
 

The Gnomon workshop - collection of training videos to support visual effects artists, concept designers, sculptors, illustrators, game designers and more. 
 

Pro Sound Effects Online Library  - large collection of sound effects. 
 

Smithsonian Global Sound for libraries - a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. 
 

Canva - a graphic design platform, used to create social media graphics, presentations, posters, documents and other visual content. 

Fonts

Typewolf 

Font Review Journal 

Interactive Typography cheat sheet - a simple typographic cheat sheet to help you discover or revisit typeface anatomy and terminology. 

FontShop 

Google Fonts 

Colour

Search Tip - Colour is often listed as Color, even on Australian search engines 

Canva colour wiki - See the quick guide to colours from Canva, including a colour matching and combination tool. 

Pantone 

Paletton - Color Scheme Designer - Generates color schemes based on one color with variations. 

Colour lovers - a creative community where people from around the world create and share colors, palettes and patterns, discuss the latest trends and explore color. 

Colour Matters 

Pigments through the ages - Explore how artists have coloured our lives. 

Color kits, swatches, reference systems and other industry color resources - Interior Decoration teacher Lindsey Glover has placed these items on Reserve for in-library use. 

For more databases in your subject area, use the A-Z Databases tool, choose Art and Design or Media and Communication, and review the details of the databases before making a selection. 
 

Further Support