All guides: Applied Science: Chemistry, Environmental Science and Nanotechnology: Websites

Expert websites

Chemistry websites

This is not intended to be a complete list of expert websites. Click on the other tabs for environmental science and nanotechnology.

American Chemical Society (ACS)
A non-profit scientific organization with more than 145 years’ experience, supporting chemistry, its practitioners and a global community of members.
Australian Academy of Science: Chemistry
The Australian Academy of Science provides accurate and engaging content in a way that everyone can access. It has access to Australia's most renowned scientists to ensure its science is accurate.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) providing fast access to over 120 million structures, along with properties and associated information.
Common Chemistry
Common Chemistry is an open community resource of nearly 500,000 chemical substances, curated by expert scientists at the American Chemical Society.
European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)
ECHA carries out technical, scientific, and administrative tasks related to the implementation of the EU’s chemicals legislation and policy, and provides transparent, independent and high-quality scientific opinions and decisions, serving as the basis of Union measures.
International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)
IUPAC is a world authority on digital standards in chemistry; chemical nomenclature and terminology; standardized methods for measurement; and on atomic weights. It publishes: the top 10 emerging technologies is chemistry each year; brief as well as comprehensive guides to nomenclature; digital standards; databases; and recommendations.
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book)
The Gold Book by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry provides definitions of chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units. Browse the alphabetical index, select a theme or use the search box.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
The US National Institute of Standards and Technology Chemistry WebBook provides free access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species.
Organic Syntheses
Organic Syntheses provides detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Search by structure, reaction, molecular formula, chemical name, CAS registry number, author's name, annual volume number, or collective volume number.
PhET Interactive Simulations: Chemistry
The PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations, based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment.
Royal Society of Chemistry
The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) is the United Kingdom's professional body for chemical scientists. It is also an internationally-renowned not-for-profit publisher of scientific journals, books and databases, with a reputation as an influential champion for the chemical sciences.
Wired Chemist: Chemistry
Wired Chemist provides free animations, modules, demonstrations of laboratory techniques, and NMR spectral data and problems.

Environmental science websites

This is not intended to be a complete list of expert websites. Click on the other tabs for chemistry and nanotechnology.

Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO)
APO is an open access evidence platform – making Australasian public policy research, documents and resources accessible and useable. Search or select a category such as science, environment or technology.
Arthur Rylah Institute for Environmental Research
The Arthur Rylah Institute for Environmental Research (ARI) is Victoria's leading centre for applied ecological research, with an emphasis on flora, fauna and biodiversity issues. Its main focus is to provide advice to effect sustainable ecological management and resource use.
Australian Academy of Science: Earth and environment
The Australian Academy of Science provides accurate and engaging content in a way that everyone can access. It has access to Australia's most renowned scientists to ensure its science is accurate.
Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS)
CEOS is the primary forum for international coordination of space-based Earth observations.
CSIRO: Environmental impacts
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) is an Australian government statutory authority with the purpose of scientific research of benefit to Australian industry and communities. Links to CSIRO research and projects related to environmental impacts.
CSIRO: Natural environments
Links to CSIRO research and projects related to natural environments.
CSIRO Data Access Portal
The CSIRO Data Access Portal provides access to research data, software and other digital assets published by CSIRO across a range of disciplines.
Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
Australian federal government. Scroll to the bottom of the page to view five DAFF portfolio websites.
Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water
Australian federal government. Scroll to the bottom of the page to view around 35 DCCEEW portfolio websites.
Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action
Victorian state government. Select DEECA Services to drill down to twelve operational areas of the department.
EPA Victoria: Publications
EPA Victoria is responsible for minimising risks to human health and the environment from pollution and waste. Publications include reports, guidelines, codes and risk assessments.
NASA Earthdata
The Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program provides open access to NASA’s archive of Earth science data. Search by keyword, browse topics, or select a data tool.
National Environment Protection Council
Australian federal government. NEPC has two primary functions: to make National Environment Protection Measures (NEPMs); and, to assess and report on the implementation and effectiveness of NEPMs in participating jurisdictions.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Free access to US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) technical, scientific, and educational materials. Search by keyword, title or publication number.
National Soil Action Plan 2023-2028
The National Soil Action Plan (DAFF) action plan sets out 4 priority actions. These guide the focus and design of support to action on soil by Australian governments at all levels and partners over the next 5 years.
National Soil Strategy
The National Soil Strategy (DAFF) is Australia’s first national policy on soil. It was released in May 2021 and sets out how Australia will value, manage and improve our soil for the next 20 years.
OSTI.GOV
US Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development. Includes journal articles, technical reports, research datasets, patents, conference papers, and theses.
Parks Victoria technical series
A series of publications detailing the findings of monitoring and research into the natural values and ecology of terrestrial and marine protected areas.

Nanotechnology websites

This is not intended to be a complete list of expert websites. Click on the other tabs for chemistry and environmental science.

EPA: Research on nanomaterials
Learn what research the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is undertaking into nanomaterials and why.
EU NanoSafety Cluster
The European Union (EU) NanoSafety Cluster (NSC) maximises collaboration between European-level projects addressing the safety of materials and technologies enabled by the use of nanoforms. The studied aspects include toxicology, ecotoxicology, exposure assessment, mechanisms of interaction, risk assessment and standardisation.
European Observatory for Nanomaterials (EUON)
EUON is hosted by the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA). It provides information about existing nanomaterials on the EU market, with a focus on safety, innovation, research and uses. Each section of the website contains links to related European reports and documents. All EUON reports are located in "General information" > "Publications".
Foresight Institute: Nanotech
Foresight Institute is a research organization and non-profit that supports the beneficial development of high-impact technologies. Includes a suite of webinar recordings related to nanotech.
National Nanotechnology Iniative (NNI)
NNI is a U.S. government research and development initiative, working with over thirty Federal departments, independent agencies, and commissions.
OECD: Nanomaterials and advanced materials
The OECD work on nanotechnology assists governments to implement policies that guarantee responsible development, focusing on safety evaluation and assessment of manufactured nanomaterials.
OSTI.GOV
US Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development. Includes journal articles, technical reports, research datasets, patents, conference papers, and theses.

Open data

Open data refers to research data and datasets that can be freely downloaded in a reusable form. See the Library guide Open research data for more information.

CSIRO Data Access Portal
The CSIRO Data Access Portal provides access to research data, software and other digital assets published by CSIRO across a range of disciplines.
Binding DB
BindingDB contains 2.9M data for 1.3M compounds and 9.4K targets. From UC San Diego.
Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS): Data tools
CEOS is the primary forum for international coordination of space-based Earth observations.
Crystallography Open Database (COD)
Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers. From University of Cambridge.
DOE Data Explorer
US Department of Energy (DOE) is the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) search tool for finding DOE-funded, publicly available, scientific data records submitted by data centers, repositories, and other organizations funded by the Department.
EC Research and innovation: Publications, tools and data
The Directorate-General for Research and Innovation in the European Commission (EC) manages and develops EU policy on research, science and innovation.
NASA Earthdata
The Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program provides open access to NASA’s archive of Earth science data. Search by keyword, browse topics, or select a data tool.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Chemistry WebBook
This site from the US Department of Commerce provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. Search by name, formula, CAS number, IUPAC identifier, reaction or structure. Select "About NIST data" to access Science Data Portal.

Evaluating information sources

The CRAAP test

Evaluate the quality of a range of sources using the CRAAP test.

• Currency: when was it created?
• Relevance: is it on my topic?
• Authority: is it by an expert?
• Accuracy: is it correct?
• Purpose: why was it created?

The SIFT method

Evaluate the quality of web and social media sources using the SIFT method.

• Stop - think before using a source.
• Investigate where it is from.
• Find alternative sources.
• Trace claims, quotes and media.

Fact checking

Find out how to verify the factual accuracy of sources using the Fact Checking guide.

• Assess content created by humans and artificial intelligence (AI).
• Learn how to spot fake news.
• Access different fact checking tools.

Library subject guides