All guides: Reference managers: Zotero

Zotero

Why use Zotero?

Zotero is a free, easy to use desktop application to help collect, organise, cite and share references. Features of Zotero include:

Open source and developed by an independent, nonprofit organisation
Has a single standalone application for users of all operating systems
Supports a large library of citation styles, including RMIT Harvard
The 'Zotero Connector' browser plugin allows saving websites and articles to Zotero

Zotero Online

This is the cloud based version of Zotero. Create an online account to sync your Zotero library to the cloud and between computers.

Resources for using Zotero

Zotero support
The Zotero website includes excellent guides to using the application, including installation, adding references to your library, creating bibliographies and sharing your library.
Managing your references with Zotero (Microsoft Stream, 45 mins)
A recording of a Library PhD Up webinar (now called Research Plus) on getting started with Zotero. Please note: you will need to log in to your RMIT account to view this video.

Installing Zotero

Download Zotero
Download the Desktop version of Zotero (for Mac and Windows) and the 'Zotero Connector' browser plugin from the Zotero website. Create a Zotero account and sign in to use the online version of Zotero and to sync desktop and online libraries. Please note: If you have an RMIT supplied computer, you may need admin rights (from IT Services) to install Zotero desktop.

The short video below demonstrates how to download the Zotero application, as well as some of the main features of Zotero.

Introduction to Zotero (4:26 mins) by Northwestern University Libraries (YouTube)

How to add references to Zotero

The document below outlines a variety of methods to add references to a Zotero library, including:

Adding references to a desktop library from databases such as ScienceDirect, ProQuest and Google Scholar (the principles can be also be used for other databases, including LibrarySearch)
Adding references to an online library using the Zotero Connector browser plugin, from websites and academic databases
Adding references to a library by importing PDFs

Adding references to your Zotero library

Adding items to Zotero
See the Zotero support guide for more ways to add references to your Zotero library

Using Microsoft Word with Zotero

The document below outlines methods for adding citations from your Zotero library into Microsoft Word. Steps to create a bibliography and change referencing styles are also included.

Using Microsoft Word with Zotero

Creating bibliographies with Zotero
See the Zotero support guide for more information on using Zotero with word processing applications such as Word and Google Docs.

Zotero browser connector proxy settings

OpenAthens has replaced EZproxy as RMIT's authentication and electronic access management system that provides access to the Library's licensed online resources, both on and off campus.

If you are using the Zotero Connector browser extension, it is recommended to disable the proxy settings. Please follow the below steps to update these:

In your browser, navigate to the extensions section and select Zotero Connector
Select the Proxies tab
In the Configured Proxies list, if you have any URLs containing "ezproxy", please remove these by selecting and clicking on the "-" button at the bottom of the list
Uncheck the tick box next to Enable proxy redirection.

Library subject guides