All guides: Open research: Tools and directories

Organisations

Australian and New Zealand Open Research Network
A hub for open research practitioners in Australia and New Zealand.
COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics)
Global committee providing leadership and resources on publication ethics.
OASPA (Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association)
The mission of OASPA is to support and represent the interests of open access journal and book publishers globally in all scientific technical and scholarly disciplines.
OECD - Open Science
The OECD is working with member and non-member economies to review policies to promote open science and to assess their impact on research and innovation.
Open Access Australasia
Authoritative source for all aspects of OA information in Australia and New Zealand. Includes numerous recorded webinars and other training materials.
Open Research Central
Open Research Central is a not-for-profit organisation created to enable the international research community to establish standards for academic publishing. As part of its mission, Open Research Central has established a portal through which research in any field can be submitted for formal publication on one of the open research publishing-compliant platforms.
SHERPA/Juliet
Provides access to information on funders' policies and requirements on OA publication and data archiving.
SHERPA/RoMEO
Provides information on publishers' conditions for OA archiving, on a journal-by-journal basis.
SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)
Global coalition committed to making OA the default for research and education.
Think. Check. Submit
Provides further information and helps researchers identify trusted journals for their research.

Directories

DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)
Is a digital directory of peer-reviewed OA books and OA book publishers.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, peer-review, OA journals.
OATD (Open Access Theses & Dissertations)
Provides access to more than 1.6 million open-access theses and dissertations freely available from over 800 institutions worldwide.
OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
An authoritative worldwide directory of academic open access repositories
Ulrich'sweb: global serials directory
Bibliographic and access information for over 240,000 serials. Entries provide pricing, subscription and distribution details as well as publisher, editor contacts.

Tools

Download the Unpaywall browser extension
How can I share it?
Tools for finding where and how to share scholarly outputs.
Endnote Click
Browser extension that will search for RMIT subscription access and open access versions of articles you find on publishers' websites.
Open Access Button
The Open Access Button will search the web for a version of the paper that you can access immediately and without payment. If that doesn't work, the Button will email the author and look for more information about the paper.
Open Journal Matcher
This tool matches an abstract with open access journals.
Open Research Toolkit
The Toolkit contains information, resources and good practice examples related to all aspects of open research, including policy, governance, pathways and processes. It also includes resources for individual researchers interested in engaging in open research practices and training materials for support services fostering open research within their organisations.
OSF - Center for Open Science
OSF is a free and open source project management tool that supports researchers throughout their entire project lifecycle.
Search Unpaywall
Unpaywall
A browser extension available for Chrome and Firefox that provides access to research papers for free, by harvesting OA content from legal sources (such as institutional repositories). The result is an open database of over 25 million free scholarly articles.

Paywall: the business of scholarship

Paywall: The Business of Scholarship, produced by Jason Schmitt, focuses on the need for open access to research and science, questions the rationale behind the $25.2 billion a year that flows into for-profit academic publishers, examines the 35-40% profit margin associated with the top academic publisher Elsevier, and looks at how that profit margin is often greater than some of the most profitable tech companies like Apple, Facebook and Google. This film is free to view both in personal and public venues. For more information please visit: Paywallthemovie.com

Paywall: the business of scholarship (1:04:48 min) by Jason Schmidt (YouTube)

Teaching and Research guides

Open research

Organisations

Directories

Tools

Paywall: the business of scholarship