All guides: Art, Arts Management, and Photography: Key resources

Databases

Find journal articles on a broad range of art subjects including visual art, art history, arts management, and photography.

Search using the main keywords that describe your topic. For example: "art practice" Australi*

Try the advanced search options for combining keywords and refining your search to find the most relevant search results in the following databases:

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
JSTOR provides access to a wide range of scholarly content for the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Central
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary collection, ideal for starting your research on a broad range of topics.
Taylor & Francis Online
An extensive collection of peer-reviewed articles. Including content on art and photography.
Wiley Online Library
Provides access to books and journals from disciplines including classical & cultural studies, art, media studies, history, literature, philosophy and political science.
Informit
The Informit package provides full text cover-to-cover access to journals, monographs, conference proceedings and other research material relating to the humanities and social sciences. 
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Access quality-controlled Open Access Journals and their articles. The Directory covers all open access scientific and scholarly journals including design topics.

MIT Press Direct
MIT Press covers a significant collection of journals and books including art and design themes and subjects.

Art, arts management, and photography research

ProQuest Arts Premium Collection
Allows users to conduct comprehensive literature reviews across the arts disciplines, access complementary full text articles.
Oxford Art Online
Provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
A resource for students and educators working across multiple fields of practice, including: art, photography, film and media, architecture and interior.
IngentaConnect (Ingenta)
An independent academic publisher in the fields of creative practice and popular culture that includes subscriptions to key academic art and photography journals.
Art and Architecture Archive (Proquest)
An archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest)
The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains annotated references from design and craft journals and newspapers including data on over designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.
ArtsHub
ArtsHub is the online home for Australian arts workers. ArtsHub carries the accepted industry standard for employment opportunities, and is Australia's only arts industry news service.
Project Muse
A leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. A source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (Informit)
Provides access to journal articles from published material on art and humanities.
Higg Materials Sustainability Index
The Higg Materials Sustainability Index (MSI) is a material assessment tool using a life cycle assessment (LCA) approach to evaluate the environmental impacts of materials used in the apparel, footwear, and home textile industries. These materials are also used in related industries such as outdoor equipment and toys, making the Higg MSI a valuable tool for understanding material impacts across several industries.

Arts legal research

To find Australian legal materials like legislation and case law use

CommLaw

AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
The Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) provides free internet access to Australian legal materials.

For Intellectual Property Law use:

AustiLii Special IP

International and non-US law journals -- Search -- Field Search

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a full text archive of U.S. law journals. It also contains some law journals from Commonwealth countries including the UK, Australia and New Zealand. Coverage is from the first volume for each journal.
AGIS Plus Text (Informit)
Attorney General's Information Service (AGIS). Covers all aspects of law. Indexed journals from 1975. Full-text journals (117) from 1999.
Lexis+ Australia
Australia's largest online legal information source. It offers an expanding range of quality subscription services for legal reference and research. It incorporates valuable features to help save time and improve your legal research results.
Westlaw AU
Westlaw AU gives you access to Australian legislation, case law, commentary, journals, news and precedents Formerly Legal Online.

For more foreign journals, search:

Social Science Research Network

Thomson Reuters Westlaw
Westlaw is a collection of full-text UK, US, Canadian, European and other international legal material. Some Australian material is included. Journals, law reports, law reviews, legislation and case law are covered.
Westlaw UK
Westlaw UK gives you access to vast but easily searchable databases of case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials.

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

A lightbulb over a laptop, with a lightning bolt pointing to the brain inside a head.

Library subject guides

Art, Arts Management, and Photography

Need help? Ask the Library!