Websites - Architecture - Professional Practice - All guides at RMIT University

Professional organisations

A list of Australian based professional associations and organisations

AACA - Architects Accreditation Council of Australia Incorporated
AACA is the national voice for architect registration boards around Australia. AACA owns the National Standard of Competency for Architects. The National Standard underpins all assessment processes including the accreditation of architecture programs leading to registration as an architect in Australia. Find registration information, international issues, publications, contacts, what's happening and State Architect's rolls.
Alternative Technology Association (ATA)
The ATA is Australia’s leading not-for-profit organisation, promoting sustainable technology and practice. The ATA provides services to members who are actively walking the talk in their own homes by using good building design, conserving water and using renewable energy.
Architects Registration Board of Victoria (ARBV)
The ARBV determines standards for the registration and professional conduct of architects in Victoria. It also provides a means for the resolution of public complaints.
Association of Consulting Architects - ACA
The ACA is a registered employer body under the Fair Work Commission representing architectural employers. The association primarily focuses on business and employment matters in Australian architecture.
Australian Institute of Architects - AIA
AIA is the peak body for the Architecture profession in Australia.
Australian Institute of Landscape Architects - AILA
The professional body representing Australian Landscape architects. This site includes links to state, national and international groups, education, publications, practices and employment.
Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors - AIQS
AIQS is the peak professional standards body for quantity surveyors and other build environment cost professionals. This site includes professional information and a number of other links of interest.
Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council
The Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council (ASBEC) is the peak body of key organisations committed to a sustainable built environment in Australia. ASBEC members consists of industry and professional associations, non-government organisations and government observers who are involved in the planning, design, delivery and operation of built environment, and are concerned with the social and environmental impacts of this sector.
Design Institute of Australia
An Industry body representing Design Professionals (Includes Interior architecture, design and decoration) The only multidisciplinary organisation of designers in Australia. DIA speaks for all designers.
Green Building Council of Australia
As RMIT is a member of the Green Building Council, university members are able to access GBCA resources and activities. Any staff or student can register to join the GBCA for free with their RMIT email, they just select ‘RMIT UNIVERSITY (Member)’ in the company drop-down.
Housing Industry Association
The Housing Industry Association Limited (HIA) is Australia’s only national industry association representing the interests of the residential building industry.
Planning Institute of Australia - PIA
PIA is the peak body representing professions involved in planning Australia's cities, towns, regions and places. Includes links to state divisions.
Professional Architects Australia
Professional Architects Australia (PAA) is a union that represents architects, interior and landscape designers, students, and graduates in Australia.

International organisations

American Institute of Architects
Gateway to AIA information and resources, including education, employment, industry, careers, publications, conferences, ethics, media and related government links.
American Society of Landscape Architects
The professional institute for America, with links to professional and academic resources, programmes, policy, careers, fellowships, scholarships, grants, competitions and awards.
The Architecture Lobby
The Architecture Lobby is an international organization of architectural workers, planners, and designers advocating for the value of architecture in the general public and for architectural work within the discipline.
International Interior Design Association
IIDA is a professional international networking and educational association. Includes links to codes of ethics, education, legislation, communications and competitions.
International Union of Architects
The International Union of Architects (UIA) is an international non-governmental organisation recognized by UNESCO as the only architectural union operating at an international level. UIA encompasses professional organisations and architects in 115 countries and territories worldwide.
Royal Institute of British Architects - RIBA
Gateway to RIBA links to information relating to all aspects of the profession including careers, competitions, events, architects, buildings, jobs, news, bookshop and a search facility.
US Green Building Council: LEED
Developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), LEED provides building owners and operators a concise framework for identifying and implementing practical and measurable green building design, construction, operations and maintenance solutions.

Evaluating information sources

The CRAAP test

Evaluate your sources using the CRAAP test to find reliable, quality information.

• Currency: when was it created?
• Relevance: is it on my topic?
• Authority: is it by an expert?
• Accuracy: is it correct?
• Purpose: why was it created?

The SIFT method

Evaluate web and social media sources in 4 moves using the SIFT method.

• Stop - think before using a source.
• Investigate where it is from.
• Find alternative sources.
• Trace claims, quotes and media.

Fact checking

Fact checking is an important skill. Find out how to assess and verify your sources with RMIT's Fact checking guide.

• Assess websites and social media.
• Lean how to spot fake news.
• Develop your media literacy skills.

Library subject guides

Architecture - Professional Practice

Professional organisations

A list of Australian based professional associations and organisations

International organisations

Evaluating information sources