All guides: Anatomy and Physiology: Key resources

Recommended databases

Databases are online collections of resources, primarily scholarly journal articles. They can also contain conference papers, e-books, reports, standards, images, videos and more. Many databases specialise in a specific subject area, so when you are searching in a database you will find material relevant to your studies.

Digital images, diagrams, animations and clinical skills videos

Our Library has many online atlases of human anatomy and physiology in addition to the specialist resources below.

Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures)
Derived from real human data, this range of software provides over 5,000 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations and much more. In 2021 the Library subscription was upgraded to include access to the Disease and Conditions collection.

An@tomedia
‘Construct’ the body by studying regions and systems. 'Deconstruct' the body through dissection and imaging. Each module has interactive text, image overlays and clinical questions.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Based on Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, this online guide maintains the evidence-based origins of the text and provides careful attention to clinical accuracy, and to the range of patient types profiled in the series.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
A peer-reviewed journal that has video demonstrations of scientific methods, experiments and concepts in a wide range of scientific fields. Covers clinical skills amongst other topics.
ClinicalKey Student Medicine
Interactive medical learning platform with books, videos, images and quick access summaries. You can take and share notes, and create revision flashcards. Registration is required to access content and personalised features.
ClinicalKey Student Nursing
Please be aware that nursing content is hosted separately so be sure to check for “/nursing” in the URL to ensure you are in the correct site when searching for nursing related content e.g. https://www.clinicalkey.com/student/nursing.

Other useful databases

UpToDate
This resource is designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to fulltext articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.

Diagnostic Imaging Pathways (DIP)
Australian evidence-based and consensus-based educational and decision support resource for clinicians, to guide them in their choice of the most appropriate diagnostic examinations in the correct sequence for a range of clinical cases. Each pathway includes effective dose range, pathway diagram, images, teaching points, references, and information for consumers.
more...less...
Note: This resource has moved to Radiology Across Borders.
iRefer
Evidence-based guidelines published by the Royal College of Radiologists (RCR), UK. Recommendations for everyday use of clinical imaging services; common clinical problems seen in primary and emergency care; practical advice on the right test at the right time. Select Guidelines, then Adult, Paediatric or Asymptomatic; search by keyword, specialty, and modality.

Cochrane Library
A medical and healthcare publication designed to supply high quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Aimed at those providing healthcare such as clinicians and carers, patients receiving healthcare, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels of healthcare such as researchers and policy-makers.

Other relevant databases

Please see our list of Biomedical, Health and Nursing subject guides for other library databases relevant to your area of study.

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

Library subject guides

Anatomy and Physiology

Need help? Ask the Library!

Recommended databases

Digital images, diagrams, animations and clinical skills videos

Other useful databases

Other relevant databases

Academic study skills