All guides: Advertising, Public Relations and Digital Communication: Websites

Advertising, PR and Digital Communication Organisations

Ads of the World
AOTW site features an ever-growing advertising campaign database featuring a range of creative advertisements from agencies around the world.
Advertising Council of Australia
Advertising Council Australia
is the peak body for Australia’s leading agencies in the advertising industry. Our purpose is to foster prosperity and diversity in the industry.
Australian Communications and Media Authority
ACMA regulate communications and media to contribute to maximising the economic and social benefits of communications infrastructure, services and content for Australia. Includes industry reports and latest news.
Comms Art Gallery
Covering disciplines of advertising, design, illustration, typography, interactive and photography.
D&AD Awards
The D&AD Awards represent the full breadth of the advertising, design and digital industries. The awards are recognised globally as the ultimate creative accolade, entered and attended by the best from around the world.
Institute for Public Relations: Research Library
Research papers, findings and advice on public relations topics.
Superbrands
Profiles of leading brands in over 85 countries, including Australia.
Swipe-worthy
Inspirational examples for marketers and copywriters. Discover the psychology and strategies behind successful promotions.

Awards and competitions

Check out award-winning promotions. Some competitions are open to students, Indigenous Australians, and new professionals.

AdAge A-List and Creativity Awards
Best advertising campaigns, ideas and agencies.
ADC Young Guns
International creative professionals aged 30 years or younger.
B&T Awards
Australian awards with categories in advertising, marketing, and media industries
Clio Awards
International awards for excellence in advertising. Students eligible to enter.
D&AD Awards
Worldwide design, advertising, craft and production awards.
Effie Awards
The most effective marketing ideas in the United States.
Good Design Awards
International awards for excellence in design and innovation.
Instagram First Nations Creators Program
Program for emerging Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander creators. Provides training in product creativity, digital production and social media strategy.
New York Festivals International Advertising Awards
Categories include student, public relations and many aspects of advertising.
Red Dot Award: Brands & Communication Design
Good design and creativity.
Shots Awards Asia Pacific
The best work from Australia, New Zealand and Asia.
The One Show
Worldwide award program in advertising, design and digital
Webby Awards
International award for excellence on the internet.

Policy documents

Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO)
APO specialises in grey literature and provides access to a range of research reports, working papers, discussion papers and statistics for effective public policy debate, decision making and implementation.

Policy commons: World cities.
Includes the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the world's top 100 cities by population, capital cities with populations greater than 20,000 people, major cities in the Global South and cities with particular research importance - such as those dealing with climate change, political instability, or rapid growth.
Policy commons: World governments.
Database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers on disciplines including agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, librarianship, etc. Community tools allow users to upload, share, and discuss their discoveries.

Grey literature
Library guide for finding and evaluating literature that is not available via traditional publishing channels.

Evaluating information sources

The CRAAP test

Evaluate your sources using the CRAAP test to find reliable, quality information.

• Currency: when was it created?
• Relevance: is it on my topic?
• Authority: is it by an expert?
• Accuracy: is it correct?
• Purpose: why was it created?

The SIFT method

Evaluate web and social media sources in 4 moves using the SIFT method.

• Stop - think before using a source.
• Investigate where it is from.
• Find alternative sources.
• Trace claims, quotes and media.

Fact checking

Fact checking is an important skill. Find out how to assess and verify your sources with RMIT's Fact checking guide.

• Assess websites and social media.
• Lean how to spot fake news.
• Develop your media literacy skills.

Library subject guides

Advertising, Public Relations and Digital Communication

Advertising, PR and Digital Communication Organisations

Awards and competitions

Policy documents

Evaluating information sources