All guides: Advertising, Public Relations and Digital Communication: Key resources

Multidisciplinary databases

Find journal articles on a broad range of professional communication subjects, including advertising, public relations, digital communication, broadcast and online media .

Search using the main keywords that describe your topic.

For example: ("public relations" OR PR) AND "social media"

Try the advanced search options for combining keywords and refining your search to find the most relevant search results in the following databases:

ProQuest Central
Proquest is a multidisciplinary database covering an extensive range of topics, including business, economics, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Proquest features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers and industry reports.
Taylor & Francis Online
An extensive collection of peer-reviewed articles, including content on media and communication.
Wiley Online Library
Provides access to books and journals from disciplines including classical & cultural studies, communication & media studies, history, literature, philosophy and political science.
SAGE Journals Online
The SAGE Journals portfolio includes journals spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, and technology. Provides full text access to subscribed titles.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Key business database that provides access to full-text, peer-reviewed articles from advertising, public relations, communication and research relating to publishing.

Subject-specific resources

Advertising

WARC: World Advertising Research Center
Allows searching under product category, brand, campaign objective, etc. WARC provides the latest information across all areas of marketing communication, with a firm focus on the promotion of best practice, effectiveness and efficiency.
Adforum.com
Provides access to a Creative Library of over 150,000 ads worldwide. Search for the latest ad campaigns or browse by film production, sound/music, animation/VFX and more. Types of media include movie trailers, interactive television, logotypes, posters, gaming and more. (Not indexed by LibrarySearch).
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
A resource for students and educators working across multiple fields of practice, including: fashion and textiles, design and illustration, photography, film and media, architecture and interiors, and marketing and advertising.This resource offers access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development, case studies, leading practitioner interviews, and more.

Ad Age
Ad Age focuses on the marketing and media landscape sharing data and analysis, people and culture, and innovation and forecasting.

Digital Communication

Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide
Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide is a directory of the major Australian media outlets, including: television and radio stations; internet media; newspapers, newsletters, and magazines; and press agencies .

Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Access via ProQuest Arts Premium. This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

SAGE Business Cases
"SAGE Business Cases is our robust digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs – providing faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to more than 3,650 authoritative cases from over 100 countries. --Publisher's Web site.

Public Relations

Communication and Media Studies: SAGE full-text collection (SAGE)
Communication and Media Studies includes the full-text. Subject coverage includes as Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organisational / Management Communication.
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (Informit)
Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (APA-FT), is an indexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities.

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

A lightbulb over a laptop, with a lightning bolt pointing to the brain inside a head.

Library subject guides

Advertising, Public Relations and Digital Communication

Need help? Ask the Library!

Multidisciplinary databases

Subject-specific resources

Academic study skills

Academic study skills