All guides: Biomedical Science: Key resources

Databases

Databases are collections of resources; many databases specialise in a specific subject area. You will find relevant research and peer-reviewed sources in the databases below.

Key Databases

PubMed
Evidence-based medical and biomedical science literature. Select FindIt@RMIT to find full-text documents.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Peer-reviewed scholarly literature; authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications.
Nature (NPG)
Nature, Nature Cell Biology, Nature Chemical Biology, Nature Communications, Nature Medicine, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews, and Nature Structural & Molecular Biology.

ProQuest Health and Medical collection
Comprehensive journal coverage of biochemistry, microbiology, pathology and biomedical science.

BioMed Central
Original peer-reviewed biomedical research.
Annual Reviews
Annual review journals in biomedical, life and physical sciences.
Cochrane Library
Including: Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register.

ClinicalKey Student Medicine
Ebooks, summaries, images and videos on a wide range of medical topics.
Proquest Biological Science
Includes Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. A wide range of research in biomedical science and microbiology. Select FindIt@RMIT to find full text documents.

Scopus (Elsevier)
Peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings. Includes author affiliations, and citation impact. Select FindIt@RMIT to find full text documents.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Leading scholarly literature in the fields of science and technology. Select FindIt@RMIT to find full text documents.

Chemicals and substances

SciFinder
SciFinder-n provides access to Chemical Abstracts and Medline and covers many scientific disciplines including biochemistry and biomedical science. Use text query or sequence query (draw or import) to discover substances, Patent Markush structures, reactions, references, and biosequences. CAS Scifinder-n help menu.

Anatomy and physiology

Our Library has many online atlases of human anatomy and physiology in addition to the specialist tools below: these resources are free for RMIT students and staff to access:

Anatomedia
An@tomedia is a comprehensive, self-paced learning program that explores anatomy from four different perspectives. These perspectives teach you how the body is constructed (from regions and systems) and how you can deconstruct the body (with dissection and imaging techniques).
Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures)
Derived from real human data, this range of software provides over 5,000 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations and much more. In 2021 the Library subscription was upgraded to include access to the Disease and Conditions collection.

Help using Anatomy.tv

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

A lightbulb over a laptop, with a lightning bolt pointing to the brain inside a head.

Library subject guides

Biomedical Science

Need help? Ask the Library!

Databases

Key Databases

Chemicals and substances

Anatomy and physiology

Academic study skills