Key Resources - Architecture - Professional Practice

Find journal articles

Databases are collections of resources, primarily journal articles, but they can also contain conference papers, videos, e-books, reports, images and more. Many databases specialise in a specific subject area, so you'll know when you're searching the database you will find material relevant to your studies. 

Note: Some databases provide the full text of publications online, others only index journals or provide summaries of the articles. In many cases you can link to the full text by clicking on the button.

ABI/INFORM Collection ( via ProQuest Central)
Features over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world
Emerald Insight
Find articles in all areas of business, and management research. Includes: Journal of Property Investment and Finance, Property Management.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 440,000 thousand entries surveying over seven hundred American and international journals.
Informit
The source for online Australian information. Includes full text journal articles and also a large video collection covering news and documentaries.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Search scholarly business and industry journals for articles about construction materials and projects, Architectural design and business issues, sustainable architecture, Building Information Modelling etc. Find Industry, market research reports, country profiles, company reports and SWOT analyses.

Construction Codes and Standards

Australian Standards Online (Intertek Inform)
Full-text access to the majority of Australian Standards, Draft Standards and some Handbooks and ANSTAT’s. Royalty issues prohibit access to approximately 100 of the total 6,500 documents. ISO and IEC indexes are available.
National Construction Code
The NCC is Australia’s primary set of technical design and construction provisions for new buildings developed by the Australian Buildings Code Board (ABCB).

You will need to create an account to access the NCC.

Find out more about standards on our Standards subject guide.

Practice Notes

Acumen -practice advice for architects
Acumen -practice advice for architects Provides architects with the most relevant and up-to-date advisory material and news about managing an architectural practice and managing architectural projects.

Environment Design Guide (RAIA)
The Environment Design Guide (EDG) is now incorporated under 'Environment', comprising over 175 peer-reviewed design notes on built-environment sustainability within the fully redeveloped Acumen Practice Notes suite

Building Information Modelling (BIM)

LinkedIn Learning
Linked in Learning contains a variety of video tutorials delivered by experts. Find classes on BIM foundations as well as tutorials on tools like Revit and AutoCAD.

Building Information Modelling (BIM)
For further information on Building Information Modelling such as books and articles, see LibrarySearch.
Building Information Modeling
A website created by the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) offers practitioners in the Australian building industry an interface for receiving information about BIM and IPD. The website contains support material and links to a variety of BIM related topics that may be useful for your practice.

Company and Industry Information

IBIS World
The IBISWorld Industry Report Architectural Services in Australia contains detailed analysis of architectural services in Australia, including segmentation, markets, major players, overviews and statistics, supply and distribution, key sensitivities, outlook and five years of financial data with ratio analysis. To access, click the link above and type Architectural Services in the search box.
Passport
Find Global industry, company and country reports. Find statistics, analysis and trends for markets, competitors, products and consumers. Use the analytics modelling tools to generate customised data graphics, forecasts and analyses.
MarketLine
Search for reports and case studies by industry, company or geography. Find market data, business strategies, product intelligence, key facts and news.

Check out the Industry and Company Information Subject Guide. For more databases.

Quick Links

Further Support

Study Support
Book a one-on-one consultation with an academic skills advisor or librarian. Connect with a peer mentor to help you with your course. Discover a range of tools to support your study.

Your feedback and suggestions

Send us your feedback about this guide.

Library subject guides

Architecture - Professional Practice

Need help? Ask the Library!