All guides: English language learning: General language skills

Welcome

The Library provides access to online and physical resources that can assist you in developing your language skills for everyday situations. This guide will:

help you progress your language skills for everyday life and academic purposes
provide practical activities and materials for speaking and pronunciation, listening skills, reading and writing

Speaking and pronunciation

Series of short videos.

Clear pronunciation Part 1.
Focuses on basic vowels and sounds
Clear pronunciation Part 2.
Focuses on word stress, intonation and more advanced pronunciation

Listening

Elllo: English Listening Lesson Library Online
Develop your speaking and listening skills by listening to others from all over the world speak on a wide range of topics.
engVid
Video lessons teaching the essentials of English, including grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation and TOEFL (Teaching of English as a Foreign Language).

Educational, informative and authoritative radio programs of the ABC and SBS. Included are podcast downloads, transcripts and live audio streaming.

ABC Radio stations
Australia's continuous coverage of local and international news. Covers politics, current affairs, business, science and technology, and sport.
SBS Radio stations
Includes "World News Australia Radio", "SBS PopAsia" and "SBS Chill - world music".
SBS News in easy English
A daily five minute news wrap for English learners.

Alexander Street
A collection of streaming video, audio, and text library databases.
EduTV (Informit)
Includes over 10,000 television programs including documentaries, drama and series.
Kanopy Streaming Service
A collection of streaming video, audio, and text library databases.

Slow English Podcast
Covers daily life in Australia for intermediate level. Has transcripts & quizzes.

Series of videos.

Reading

Macquarie Dictionary (7th edition 2017)
The Macquarie Dictionary Online is constantly updated with new words as they enter the Australian language. This online service gives you access to the latest edition of the Macquarie Dictionary and the latest edition of the Macquarie Thesaurus plus annual updates.

Magazines are a useful and engaging resource for English language learners.

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest)
Provides Access to the full text of major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. It includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.

ABC News
Reading the news online or watching the news on television is a great way to improve your English comprehension skills.

Writing

These resources allow you to practise using grammar into your writing.

Integrated activities

These resources allow you to practise combining different skills.

ABC Education: Learn English
BBC Learning English
Resources for general and business English. Covers grammar, pronunciation and vocabulary. Includes quizzes, videos and podcasts.
BBC Skillwise
Includes factsheets, worksheets, quizzes, quick reads and interactive games.
British Council General English
Global English Course - Beamafilm
SBS Learn English

Library subject guides