Skip to main content

Harvard Referencing for Visual Material

This guide provides examples on how to reference visual material using the Harvard referencing style.

What is a Reference List?

A Reference list should contain only the details of the sources you have cited in the body of your text.

What is a Bibliography?

A bibliography may also include details of other sources you consulted when researching a piece of work but may not have cited in your text.

What is an Annotated Bibliography

For each entry in the bibliography the author writes a brief description of the source's content, its relevance to the author's own work, its possible value for a reader, or any other information the author considers useful.

Example Reference List

 

Both Reference Lists and Bibliographies are placed at the end of your essay, assignment or thesis (unless your lecturer has specified differently, which may be the case for theses). Citations (references) are then arranged alphabetically by author or responsible organisation, or where no author is given, by title. (If the first word is a definite/indefinite article it should be ignored, e.g. The Story of Art should be filed alphabetically under Story). Citations by the same author are then arranged chronologically, with the most recent first.

It is important you consult with your lecturer or Course Notes to determine whether a Reference List or Bibliography is required. 

 

Reference List (Example)

About Jenny Holzer 2011, dvd, Microcinema International, San Francisco, California.

Art + soul : a journey into the world of aboriginal art 2010, television program, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Sydney, 4 October.

Art Farmer 1978, Art, sound recording, Cadet Records, Chicago, Ill.

Chains = Cantene/Titanus 2011, motion picture, British Film Institute, London.

Colli, MG 2009, Bilbao_6 Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, photograph, viewed 4 January 2012, <http://www.flickr.com/photos/52355315@N08/5757476385/>.

Di Trocchio, P 2011, Manstyle : men + fashion, exhibition catalogue, 11 March-27 November, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, Vic.

Eales, S (ed.) 2003, The Jacaranda atlas, 3rd edn, John Wiley & Sons, Brisbane.

Fujimoto, Tetsuo 1998, Work 98-1, Fibre art : Hemp cloth, polyester threads, Pellon backing and natural plant dyes Exhibited at: Textural Space exhibition, Surrey Institute of Art & Design, 27 Apr - 23 Jun 2001.

Google Earth 6.0. 2008. Hylands House and estates 51°42'39.17"N, 0°26'11.30"W, elevation 60M. 3D Buildings data layer, viewed 31 August 2011, <http://www.google.com/earth/index.html >.

Gorman, P 2001, The look: adventures in pop & rock fashion, Sanctuary Publishing Ltd, London.

Gough, P 2017, What makes art good or bad?, video recording, Youtube, viewed 17 July 2017, 
<https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNQVe4qgtx8>.

Le Corbusier, c. 1950-1954, Notre-Dame du Haut, exterior, Ronchamp, France, viewed 12 January 2012, Oxford Art Online database. 

Liebovitz, A 2002, Dancers: photographs by Annie Liebovitz, Smithsonian Institution Press, Washington.

Melbourne Water 2012, Weekly water report 5 January 2012: Chart view Daily residential water use in Melbourne, Melbourne Water, Victoria, viewed 12 January 2012, <http://www.melbournewater.com.au/content/water_storages/report>.

Mojang 2009, Minecraft, video game, Xbox 360, Mojang, Sweden.

Nefertari with Isis, n.d. photograph, viewed 4 January 2012, <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Ankh_isis_nefertari.jpg>.

Sallowsky, M 2006, RMIT buildings - Brunswick campus, digital image, RMIT University, Melbourne, viewed 12 January 2012, <http://www.rmit.edu.au/browse;ID=218ujxd8tspl1>.

Turner, JMW 1812, Snow storm: Hannibal and army crossing the alps, Oil on canvas, 145×2360 mm, Turner Collection, Tate Gallery, Britain.

Ubisoft Entertainment 2012, Assassins creed III, computer program, Ubisoft Australia.