Skip to main content

COVID-19 - free resources

Due to COVID-19 many publishers are now offering free/extended resources. NOTE 30/6/20 Some of these complementary resources have expired and have been removed. Assistance: catalogue.library@rmit.edu.au

Types of resources available in this Lib Guide

This Lib Guide lists all the free and extended resources available from various platforms and vendors during the current pandemic.

There are two main types of resource - COVID-19 specific resources, and more general resources now freely available to our library users due to the current shutdowns.

Almost every one of the boxes below (usually one box per platform arranged in alphabetical order) contains COVID-19 specific resources. Here is a list of the boxes which (also) contain extra, not necessarily virus-related resources. Hopefully this list will highlight some of the freely available resources that are broader in scope.

  • ACS Publications
  • American Economic Association (AEA)
  • Berghahn
  • De Gruyter
  • EBSCO
  • Elsevier
  • Informit Media
  • ISI Emerging Markets Group (via Bezi)
  • JSTOR
  • Library Journal
  • McGraw-Hill
  • Microbiology Society
  • Project Muse
  • Sitepoint
  • Springer Nature

ACS Publications

Enclosed are the virtual issues of all articles related to Covid-19 from ACS Publications:

Chemistry in Coronavirus Research: A Free to Read Collection from the American Chemical Society

And here is the C&EN compilation details about the impact of Covid-19:

Everything we know about the COVID-19 coronavirus

Chemistry in Coronavirus Research, free access:

Chemistry in Coronavirus Research: A Free to Read Collection from the American Chemical Society

Other resources:

A special report published by researchers at the Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) in ACS Central Science journal. The report reviews published scientific information on potential therapeutic drugs and vaccines for COVID-19 and highlighted scientist-cited patent literature in the CAS database.

A collection of the latest research on novel coronaviruses on the ChemRxiv preprint platform. ChemRxiv was co-sponsored by the American Chemical Society, the Royal British Chemical Society, the German Chemical Society, the Chinese Chemical Society, and the Japanese Chemical Society.

ES&T and ES&T Letters jointly launched a Free-to-read virtual issue "Overview of Research on the Fate and Behavior of Enveloped Viruses in the Environment" to showcase the current research progress on the persistence and environmental behavior of enveloped viruses in the environment.

For more general extended resources from ACS, here is a collection of free to read online chemistry teaching resources from the Journal of Chemical Education and the ACS Division of Chemical Education. This regularly updated collection includes journal articles, video resources, distance learning modules, etc.

American Economic Association (AEA)

In these uncertain times, some faculty and their students may not have access to their institution's print-only subscription to the AEA journals. To ensure access as academic semesters and various student projects conclude, the Association is making its available journal content open access on the AEA website through August 31, 2020.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)

To support rapid response efforts to the COVID-19 pandemic, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is providing access to key international standards supporting biological evaluation of medical devices; protective clothing used in health care settings; and business continuity management, security, and resilience. The coordinator of the U.S. voluntary consensus standardization system, ANSI is also the U.S. member body to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).

To access the portal, users must accept the license agreement and register. Once registered for the portal, users can return to the ANSI portal.

ANSI has also launched a COVID-19 ANSI Resource Webpage highlighting activities of the U.S. standardization community in the fight against the pandemic. The resource page spotlights ANSI members’ activities supporting public health, safety, and infrastructure, and includes important ANSI announcements, distance learning opportunities, and other resources.

American Physiological Society (APS)

For our readers, articles discussing COVID‐19, coronavirus, SARS and other related research will be freely accessible as part of our coronavirus-related collection. The collection will continue to grow as relevant content is identified and new contributions on these topics are accepted.

APS Coronavirus-Related Collection

 

American Psychological Association (APA)

We have a curated and continually updated collection of freely available APA journal articles examining the psychological impact of a pandemic, the effects of economic stress on mental health, telehealth, and other topics related to the current crisis.

For both clinicians and the general public, APA has a continually updated pandemics resource. Of particular interest may be this article on "Seven crucial research findings that can help people deal with COVID-19".

With APA Style content in particular demand, librarians might also point their patrons to our free online seventh edition style and grammar guidelines.

American Society for Microbiology

ASM is providing free access to nearly 50 research articles published over the last year in ASM’s 16 scholarly journals to support research efforts and communications about the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). ASM has also committed to making all of its COVID19 and coronavirus related publications, and the available data supporting them, immediately accessible in PubMed Central (PMC) and other public repositories.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) resources (ASM)

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews has set up a resource center for articles that are freely available:

Research Support: Coronavirus primer (Annual Reviews)

In addition, the decision was made yesterday, and will be announced later today or Monday, that in order to help the many students, faculty and researchers that are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic we will temporarily remove access control to our content through the end of April. We expect to have this ready to go this coming Monday the 16th .

ArtsHub

As COVID-19 cancels events and devastates our community, ArtsHub’s mission is to double down in its support for the arts sector. We’re publishing more op-eds from within the sector and we want to give the arts a voice as we lobby for stimulus during hard economic times.

This week we made all of our coverage on COVID-19 freely available outside of our member’s paywall and have established a dedicated new COVID-19 ArtsHub section on our website to ensure free and easier access to that information.

Berghahn

As courses transition to online, we are offering a growing number of Open Access texts (many offered in both ePub and .pdf format) available for direct download from our website.

Open access to Berghahn e-books and journals.

 

Bezi Publishing Services

Explore CEIC Data’s interactive global map covering the number of confirmed cases, deaths, recovered patients and concentration of the CoVID-19 virus. Free and updated daily.

CEIC Data: Novel Coronavirus Outbreak Map

Biochemical Society/Portland Press

“The Biochemical Society/Portland Press has, along with several organisations/publishers, signed a joint statement on sharing research data relating to the coronavirus outbreak freely available.

The full news item regarding their joint statement on sharing COVID-19 research data and a list of papers included (with hyperlinks) can be found here.

Papers published prior to signing the joint statement have been made freely available (paywall has been dropped) and, going forward, all papers accepted for publication will be made open access.” 

BioOne

Peer-reviewed research and research libraries continue to be trusted guides during times of scientific uncertainty. As the world navigates the COVID-19 pandemic, BioOne is proud to share the wealth of relevant content from our publishing partners to provide support for those working on crisis solutions. Visit our BioOne COVID-19 resource page

In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries and the Greater Western Library Alliance, BioOne and our publishers have made articles related to coronavirus in the following journals available via open access through 2020:

Your patrons will find additional relevant articles related to the coronavirus and pandemics on BioOne Complete.

BMJ

This page collects all BMJ coverage of the coronavirus outbreak from across the BMJ's journals and learning resources. All articles and resources are freely available.

 

Brill

Brill have opened up access to selected e-books and e-journal articles on topics such as epidemics (past and present), crisis and containment strategies, and home-schooling and distance learning. Access is free worldwide via this dedicated Brill e-books and e-journals mini-site.

 

 

Cambridge University Press

Please see the free COVID-19 collection from Cambridge University Press. Some of this content is open access anyway, the rest has been made freely available:

 

CAS

For those working specifically on COVID-19, we have made available publications and resources free of charge. These can be found here:

CAS COVID-19 link.

CAS American Chemical Society COVID-19 link.

In particular, CAS has highlighted 50,000 compounds with anti-viral properties, and this dataset can be downloaded and retained by going to the above CAS link. We have also created a Protein Target Thesaurus that may be of interest, again available for free at the above CAS link.

Clarivate

A global coronavirus resource site from Clarivate to help medical researchers and healthcare professionals access the world’s leading research and late-breaking news around the coronaviruses.

 

Cochrane

2 COVID-19 Special Collections published: critical care & infection control and prevention, plus other Cochrane resources.

Credo Reference

To provide info on the Corona Virus, we are linking to our publishing partner, The Conversation, which has been posting timely, science-based articles on COVID-19 on their website and blog. These articles are fully open access.

 

CSIRO

As a member of STM, CSIRO announced it was willing to comply with the request from the US Office of Science and Technology Policy to post full text of all COVID-19 content plus associated data into PubMed upon publication, for free and with data mining allowed. I am pleased to let you know that CSIRO Publishing along with other STM members have committed to this action.

CSIRO Publishing’s contribution will be small as we are not a medical publisher and our health publishing is small in scale. Never the less we are pleased to do our bit. 

De Gruyter

To facilitate e-learning during this Covid-19 pandemic, De Gruyter would like to let you know that RMIT now have temporary access to 75,000 DRM-free eBooks from 1650 to 2016.

From Arts to Asian Studies, Classical studies to Computer science, Life science to Linguistics, De Gruyter provides unparalleled breadth and depth of content. Build essential skills, stay on top of research developments, and discover solutions within the comfort of your home.

Click here to access 75,000 De Gruyter E-books, then select "publications", then date limit (on the right - scroll down a bit) to 1658-2016. Find the title you want, click on it, then select "contents" to access the pdf download buttons for each book section.

Duke University Press

We would like to share our Duke University Press free content reading lists (included is Navigating the Threat of Pandemic).

We are also opening all available content for East Asian Science, Technology and Society.

EBSCO

Working together with our information partners, EBSCO would like to alleviate the impact of COVID-19 on your library by extending free and expanded access to EBSCO academic content. We hope these resources help your students and faculty as they adjust to remote learning and researching.

EDP Sciences

Very early in the pandemic, EDP Sciences decided to open its journal content from 2018-2020, including Covid-19 content, so that it became freely available for all to read. In this way, it showed its support for researchers and academics facing unprecedented challenges and ensured unrestricted access to any and all content that could be useful in the exceptional circumstances. This offer lasts until 31st August, 2020.

A few exceptions remain:

  • Journals we publish on behalf of partners from whom we have not yet received permission
  • Journals we do not own for which we simply host content

Elsevier

Since January 2020 Elsevier has created a COVID-19 resource center with free information in English and Mandarin on the novel coronavirus COVID-19. You can find our Cononavirus information center here.

 

Elsevier hereby grants permission to make all its COVID-19-related research that is available on the COVID-19 resource center - including this research content - immediately available in PubMed Central and other publicly funded repositories, such as the WHO COVID database with rights for unrestricted research re-use and analyses in any form or by any means with acknowledgement of the original source. These permissions are granted for free by Elsevier for as long as the COVID-19 resource center remains active. Access to all subscribed content on ScienceDirect continues unhindered, even for those trying to access from remote locations and should your members require any assistance in ensuring remote access please ask them to contact their account managers.

Novel Coronavirus (Covid-19) Information Center for nursing and healthcare educators.

 

 

 

Emerald

We have made Emerald research on COVID-19 and the management of epidemics and pandemics free for anyone to access and have also made this available with full text and data mining rights to PubMed Central and the World Health Organisation repository. We will continue to make relevant research freely available on this site.

GeoScience World

IBISWorld

While the COVID-19 situation is ever-changing, IBISWorld will continue to provide resources and information as it becomes available. You'll find a centralized hub for all IBISWorld coronavirus resources on the Industry Insider – check back regularly for updated information.

Informit Media

To help mitigate any adverse educational or media usage impacts as a result of the Coronavirus, Informit and Screenrights have introduced the following temporary measures for existing subscribers to Informit Media products:
• Access to EduTV and TVNews is permitted outside of Australia for remote campuses and students via the current sites for education purposes. Please see the RMIT library catalogue for links (both listed under "databases").
• Access to EduTV and TVNews is permitted outside of Australia for remote campuses and students via their LMS for education purposes.
• Faculty users have approval to download any Informit Media product (EduTV & TVNews) asset that is viewed locally. This file can then be sent to overseas students via their LMS (not email).
• Informit will offer this solution as a temporary measure for the first semester of 2020 or until the crisis is over.

IOP Publishing

IOP Publishing acknowledges the devastating impact Coronavirus (COVID-19) is having around the world and we will do whatever we can to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers and others who are working to address this public health emergency. As part of our response, all coronavirus relevant published and forthcoming articles in IOP journals (listed here) will be made immediately available to PubMed Central (PMC) throughout the duration of the crisis, with rights to enable text and data mining, re-use and secondary analysis.

 

ISI Emerging Markets Group (via Bezi)

CEIC Data University provides an unrivalled 5.5+ million time series for local and global economic research.

EMIS University provides unparalleled business and finance intelligence on world's emerging markets.

JoVE

​To support the efforts of scientists and researchers working hard to address the COVID-19 outbreak, JoVE has made its coronavirus focused JoVE research videos freely available. 

JSTOR

To support our institutions during this challenging time, JSTOR and our participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to our participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19.

First, we are expediting the release of a new set of 26 JSTOR journal archives in Public Health, making them openly accessible through December 31, 2020.

Also, access more than 35,000 e-books and a range of journals until August 31, 2020. Just select from one of the participating publishers on the landing page to access their e-books and journals through JSTOR on a variety of subjects.

Karger

Karger have created a Topic Article Package for COVID:

Topic Article Package (Karger): Coronavirus (COVID-19)

In January 2020, a novel coronavirus COVID-19 has resulted in the outbreak of a respiratory illness with its origin in Wuhan, China. Since then it has spread to other countries. Karger Publishers supports research in this area by providing free access to relevant articles (listed below). To enable fast access to research articles, we have signed the consensus statement by Wellcome about Sharing research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.

Number of articles in this package: 48

All articles are freely available. Any new articles will be added to the package

The Lancet

To assist health workers and researchers working under challenging conditions to bring this outbreak to a close, The Lancet has created a Lancet Coronavirus Resource Centre. This resource brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published. All content listed on this page is free to access.

LexisNexis

LexisNexis Offers Free, Comprehensive COVID-19 News Coverage and Practical Guidance Content from Law360 and Lexis Practice Advisor. Law360 covers COVID-19’s impact on the government, business and the legal profession; Lexis Practice Advisor toolkit provides guidance and insights across multiple practice areas to support decision-making and counsel on COVID-19 matters

Library Journal

To support the work of the library and publishing community as we navigate through the COVID-19 crisis, Library Journal is offering temporary free access to the digitized edition of LJ, as well as all the content on our website.
Our goal is to provide timely, accurate updates related to COVID-19 as it pertains to libraries and the communities you serve, as well as to better enable you to engage with the challenges ahead from wherever you are working by making sure you can access the news, reviews, and information Library Journal provides every day.
On the website, we have created a temporary full-access pass for all readers to all of our premium content, usually available only to premium subscribers.

Mark Allen Group (MAG)

We would like to bring to your attention our dedicated Mark Allen Group COVID-19 page hosting any articles we have published relating to the COVID-19 virus, all of which is free to access.

Mary Ann Liebert

Mary Ann Liebert have selected a number of relevant articles from their Health Security, Telemedicine and e-Health and Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News titles.

All of these papers are, and will remain, free-to-access for the duration of this crisis. Further, they have been asked by the CDC to fast-track two papers, which are currently in process, and will be made Open Access immediately upon publication.

We have selected 10 relevant articles from Health Security on coronaviruses, outbreak preparedness and response, infection control, and public health policy; these articles will be freely available through March 31, 2020 to facilitate the conversation around health security. We hope these pieces will serve as resources for the community as it works to ensure that the 2019-nCoV outbreak is fully understood and contained.

Telemedicine and e-Health publishes vital academic research that addresses, answers, and highlights how we can prevent a global outbreak such as the COVID-19 coronavirus using telemedicine techniques, freely available at that link.

A new survey by Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News (GEN) reveals 35 active drug development programs in North America, Europe, and China. This list is certain to multiply in coming weeks as global health agencies, governments, and drug developers step up efforts against the SARS-CoV-2 virus.

McGraw-Hill

We will be releasing this week (19th March) a new free to use “COVID Central” resource centre hosted (before the paywall) on AccessMedicine:

COVID Central will be a source of weekly updated developments and analysis in clinical medicine, public health, and industry and will be aimed at healthcare professionals, trainees and students, and librarians. It will be open to all viewers regardless of Access subscription status. As you may be aware Dr Anthony Fauci is the leading spokesperson to the US government on COVID-19 and is also one of our editors of Harrisons Principles of Internal Medicine. Once live, “COVID Central” will have daily contributions and resources contributed from across our author and specialist professional community. Included will be resources to support instructors and students on distance learning.

See also the Coronavirus Interactive 3D Media Assets.

"ACCESS ENGINEERING" TRIAL

Your trial subscription for RMIT University Library has been activated and is valid to 3/07/2020. Click this link to access the "Access Engineering" trial.

Medicom Medical Publishers

Free access to the Medicom Conference Report library.

Microbiology Society

We are temporarily removing the paywall from our journals’ platform. 

The extraordinary and global efforts made to curb the spread and impact of SARS-COV-2 mean that many microbiologists will be away from their workplaces and may find online access to resources compromised. At a time when we are counting on many in our community to help find solutions, we hope this practical step will help.

Access Microbiology Society resources here.

MIT Press

We have gone through our journal backfile to select relevant articles from our collection that speak to issues related to pandemics, epidemiology, and other related topics. A list of freely available MIT Press articles is being maintained and regularly updated on our blog here.

NEJM

NEJM is providing a collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary. Editorials, perspectives and original articles can be accessed free of charge. NEJM also provides links to useful sites and Journal Watch summaries

New York Times

Free access to the most important news on The Coronavirus outbreak from the New York Times coronavirus page.

NLM

LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about COVID-19. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 1200 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.

OECD

The OECD has just established an OECD COVID-19 portal, gathering all relevant evidence, analysis and advice on policy responses published by the Organisation. All resources that are shown, including publications normally behind access control on OECD iLibrary, have been made fully accessible for the duration of the crisis.

Ovid

Ovid has created a dedicated COVID-19 site, featuring expert searches, a widget and a link to access GIDEON — Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Network, plus specific resources for nurses. We will be adding additional content as it becomes available.

Please note that this dedicated site, is also available in Chinese, Korean and Japanese.

 

Oxford University Press

With the recent coronavirus situation, Oxford University Press has made content from OUP online book resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others who are working to address this health crisis

PLOS

PLOS blog on COVID-19. PLOS blogs offer diverse perspectives on science and medicine. Read about COVID-19.

Project Muse

Among the publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books). We expect to announce additional participants and will continually update the list of publishers offering free access to content.

Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive “Free” icon, different from the “OA” icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark that users associate with content held by their library. MUSE search results (muse.jhu.edu/search), by default, include any content to which a user has access, so will offer the researcher any relevant free, OA, or entitled articles and books. There are over 2000 open access books and a small number of fully OA journals on the MUSE platform. More information in MUSE OA content is available here.

 

ProQuest

Starting next week, ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from over 50 publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June. No action is required by librarians to switch on unlimited access – this will be done automatically, and the transition will be seamless for users.

Additionally, we have prepared a list of authoritative ProQuest COVID-19 resources we would like to share with your members about the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

ProQuest just announced the launch of a coronavirus research database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The new cross-disciplinary resource enables researchers to search and discover full-text articles, dissertations and other content from key publishers in one place.

Access the ProQuest coronavirus research database here, and input "RMIT" into the "find your library" box. A link will then appear for you to log in with your RMIT credentials and access the resource.

 

 

Royal College of Nursing

This page provides RCN members with the information and resources to support their understanding of and management of COVID-19. Nurses are fundamental to informing the public and reassuring them about this outbreak. Although most resources are targeted at RNC members, there are lots of useful links.

Royal Society

The Royal Society has signed a Wellcome Statement on the subject of research findings and data relevant to the coronavirus (covid-19) outbreak. We are one of several signatories to this statement and our collective aim is to ensure that the relevant research and data are shared rapidly and openly in order to inform the worldwide public health response and to help save lives. This Royal Society special COVID-19 collection comprises some papers likely to be relevant to the outbreak.

RSNA

Due to the current shortage of nucleic acid testing kits used to confirm the presence of the 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19), CT scans have become the first line of defense in diagnosing a suspected infection. RSNA is currently processing peer-reviewed articles and cases of COVID-19 to provide the global radiology community with a free diagnostic resource to help prevent the spread of this outbreak and get more patients the care they need. Please see the RSNA link dedicated to COVID-19.

COVID-19 articles are available here.

COVID-19 podcasts are available here.

COVID-19 cases are available here.

For COVID-19 news click here.

 

Sage

Making any relevant content about COVID-19 freely available to your consortia members as well as universally for all readers. Please click on the SAGE COVID-19 microsite to see the articles.

There is also a list of freely available SAGE Corona Virus related articles.

Removing and waiving all simultaneous user limits to customers who have subscribed to our textbooks on ProQuest. This offer is valid until mid-June and may be further extended depending on the circumstances at the time. Allowing exception and fair use of SAGE journal content for educational purposes. This includes the reasonable use of our journal content for course packs, print copies, digital copies electronic reserves and text mining. Reasonable is defined as not more than 10% of the any individual book or journal issue where these are included in a database and not more than 5% of the total database content. Inter-library Loan (ILL). Customers are permitted to use a reasonable amount of SAGE journal content to fulfill occasional requests from other academic institutions in compliance with normal copyright guidelines. Lift campus only restrictions SAGE content subscribed by customers has always been accessible by your patrons remotely and online to support universities shifting from in-person classes to online classes/tutorials. If you encounter any issues or challenges please do alert us. Providing tools and services to support distance learning SAGE has a portfolio of products designed to support universities in delivering online learning and to support students in accessing and using such content.

Semantic Scholar

A Free, Open Resource for the Global Research Community In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19), a free resource of over 29,000 scholarly articles, including over 13,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community. This dataset is intended to mobilize researchers to apply recent advances in natural language processing to generate new insights in support of the fight against this infectious disease. The corpus will be updated weekly as new research is published in peer-reviewed publications and archival services like bioRxiv, medRxiv, and others.

SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics)

FREE Content:

The SIAM Epidemiology Collection, focused on disease modeling, pandemics, and vaccines, is freely available to all for one year. Please share this important resource with your researchers and students.

SIAM Journal on Mathematics of Data Science continues to be freely available this year during its introductory launch period.

Sitepoint

With many Australian schools closing (or potentially closing in the coming weeks), we wanted to support students and education providers looking for online learning resources.

From today, we'll be providing free access to our entire library of 400+ books and courses for all Australian students and education providers, until January 2021. Free access to the entire Sitepoint library is available here.

Our content is fully accessible online, with books also being able to be read offline.

To qualify for a free membership, all you need is an email that ends in '.edu.au'.

You can create a free Sitepoint account here and are welcome to share it with anyone else that qualifies.

Springer Nature

Springer Nature is monitoring the coronavirus situation closely. During this time, we are doing everything necessary to make sure our research platforms remain fully available and we are ready to support the increasing numbers of researchers, students and faculty working from remote locations. We want to make sure access to our content is not interrupted in any way, so if there is anything we can do to assist you in securing remote access for your users please feel free to contact us through our usual access channels.

Springer Nature knows how essential access to research is in slowing the spread of COVID-19. We have made available for free all relevant research we have published and continue to publish, are strongly urging our authors submitting articles related to this emergency to share underlying datasets relating to the outbreak as rapidly and widely as possible. We continue to work with global organisations to support the sharing of relevant research and data and are a signatory on the Wellcome Trust consensus statement, Sharing research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak, as well as supporting the initiative from the White House Office of Science and Technology to make all relevant global research, and data, available in one place. We also have a role to play providing good, fact-based journalistic and opinion content on this fastmoving public health issues in Nature (for researchers and research leaders) and Scientific American (for the broader public).

As a global company operating from multiple countries, remote working is something we are incredibly used to. Colleagues across all our teams remain accessible to you for any questions you may have.

Springer Nature esources about the virus and pandemic are available here.

Educational institutions across the world have had to move ongoing classes online in order to apply to social distancing measures introduced by governments. We at Springer Nature would like to support institutions that have been affected by the lockdown with free access to textbooks.

Access free Springer Nature textbook title lists and links (in Excel files) here. Just scroll down to the book lists.

SSRN

SSRN’s Coronavirus and Infectious Disease Research page provides a curated view into the earlystage research to help researchers, public health authorities, clinicians and the public understand, contain and manage this disease. 

Taylor and Francis

Peer-reviewed research published in Taylor & Francis journals is now free to access and available for anyone to read. In addition, TandF will support researchers, journals & funders to ensure that all research findings & data relevant to this outbreak are shared rapidly & openly. TandF has provided a list of some of the most recent, relevant pandemic studies on Taylor and Francis. 

Taylor and Francis CEO Annie Callanan outlines how we have been working to provide the research community with free access to COVID-19 research.

We have also launched a microsite consolidating Taylor and Francis journal and book resources on COVID-19. This is currently being updated based on daily keyword scans of articles in production to ensure that we are making all COVID-19 research free at the point of publication. 

University of Chicago Press

A number of articles and book reviews about coronaviruses have been published in University of Chicago Press Journals. They are now free to read on our site. Please visit our University of Chicago Press coronavirus information page for a complete list.

U.S. National library of Medicine – NCBI

Librarian