All guides: Fashion and Textiles: Websites

Fashion design

Vogue Fashion Trends
Discover the latest trends from Vogue magazine.
We Wear Culture
Explore the stories behind what we wear - the icons, movements, craft and arts. Curated by leading institutions across the world.
WGSN Blog
Blog articles on fashion, colour, sustainability and other topics. Insights based on trend intelligence, retail analytics and consumer insights.
Fashion Snoops
Global trend forecasting agency. Produces webinars and “Fireside Streams” with industry players.
Fashion Trend Setter
Fashion and colour forecasting and trends. Provides current information from major trade fairs, trend reports and fashion forecasts.
Show Studio
The home of fashion film, including fashion runway shows.
The Sartorialist
A two-way dialogue about the world of fashion and its relationship to daily life created by photographer Scott Schuman.
Trend Hunter
Popular trend community covering fashion, tech, and design. Features a daily dose of innovative ideas, viral news and pop culture. Good for inspiration.
Trend Tablet
Browse a variety of topics and find out how trends grow, evolve and flow.
Cool Hunting
Award-winning independent publication that uncovers the latest intersections of design, culture and technology.

Bata Shoe Museum
Museum celebrates the style, development, and function of footwear.
Campbell Randall Leather Machine Company
American company specialising in tools and supplies for working with leather.
Packer Leather
Australian leather provider.
Shoemaster
Leading CAD/CAM system for the shoemaking industry.
World Footwear
News and statistics on the global footwear industry.

Pantone Australia
Explore colour systems for textiles, fashion colour trend reports, news and articles.

Fearless Makers
Free Patternmaker Pro and Fashioner tools for customising sewing patterns. Mix and match collars, bodices and sleeves, or draft your own pattern from scratch.

Future Laboratory (LS:N global)
Search or browse the latest macro and micro trends and design directions. Filter by time, sector, location and generation. Note that content is only available to subscribers.
Textile Value Chain
Textiles and textile technology news, industry insights, market reports, interviews and articles.

Ethical Clothing Australia
Accreditation agency for Australian textile, clothing and footwear businesses. Includes a directory of ethical manufacturers and a digital shopping map.
Centre for Circular Design (CCD)
Focuses on design for a circular future. Explore the design, production, use and disposal of textiles, materials and 'things'. The "Research" section includes short articles on a range of topics.
The Textile Exchange
Industry standards, data and insights to measure, manage and track usage of materials. Provides standards, benchmarking and industry tools.
International Labour Organisation
UN agency that brings together governments, employers and workers of its member states to promote decent work throughout the world.
Fashion Revolution Consumer Survey
Includes a report on the findings of a 2020 survey of 5,000 people aged 16-75 in the five largest European markets about how supply chain transparency and sustainability impacts purchasing decisions when shopping for clothing, accessories and shoes.
OECD Responsible Supply Chains in the Garment and Footwear Sector
Includes the OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Supply Chains in the Garment & Footwear Sector
Oxfam company tracker
Rates fashion brands on where they stand in terms of a fairer fashion industry and paying garment workers a living wage.
The Good Shopping Guide
Find out which brands are best for the environment, animals and people. Search by brand, or browse the "Fashion" section for ethical comparisons.

Australian Fashion Council
Peak body for the Australian fashion and textile industry. The "Directory" lists industry contacts by category. Access industry reports in the "Resources" section.
RMIT students and staff can email pa.ft@rmit.edu.au to obtain member access to resources, including comprehensive toolkits.
First Nations Fashion and Design (FNFD)
Supports the growth of Indigenous Australian fashion through opportunities, skill development and industry engagement.
Indigenous Fashion Projects
Supports Australian designers and art centres working in fashion and textiles. Builds capability, businesses, cultural expression, sustainability and collaboration.
Design Institute of Australia
Industry body representing professional design and designers in Australia and internationally. Includes practice notes and publications.
International Textile and Apparel Association
Information resource on research and training for faculty and students in fibre, textiles, apparel programs. Some content (i.e. member directory) is only available to fee-paying members.

Evaluate your sources using the C.R.A.A.P test to find reliable, quality information.

CURRENCY
When was it created?

RELEVANCE
Is it on my topic?

AUTHORITY
Is it by an expert?

ACCURACY
Is it correct and reliable?

PURPOSE
Why was it created?