All guides: Engineering: Standards

Australian and International Standards

Australian Standards Online (Intertek Inform)
Full-text access to the majority of Australian Standards, Draft Standards and some Handbooks. Royalty issues prohibit access to approximately 100 of the total 6,500 documents. ISO and IEC indexes are available. (Vendor was SAI Global)

A very useful standard for Materials - Corrosion is called the:

ISO 8044:2015 Corrosion of metals and alloys - Basic terms and definitions

Find it in the Australian Standards Online database.

ASTM International Standards Online (IHS)
To use this database you will be required to complete a one-time account validation as part of this process.
1. When presented with the login page, click Register or Validate Account.
2. Enter your RMIT e-mail when prompted.
3. Create your profile.
4. You will receive an e-mail with a validation link (valid for 24 hours). Click this link to activate your account and set your password.
5. Your account will now be active, and you can use these credentials to login to Engineering Workbench from this point forward.
Contains ASTM International published specification documents, test methods, classifications, practices, and guides describing the characteristics of materials, systems, products and services.
Accuris (was IHS) Engineering Workbench

International Automotive and Transport Standards

SAE International

Founded in 1902 SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts. They publish research on engines, materials, manufacturing and fuels for cars, aircraft, trucks and off-highway equipment in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries.

SAE Australia

The Society of Automotive Engineers Australasia (SAE-A) was founded in Melbourne in 1927 and encompasses all mobility sectors including aerospace, automotive, rail, trucks, off road and recreational vehicles.

SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers) publishes many new, revised, and reaffirmed standards each year in three categories:

Aerospace Standards (AS) -- not held by the Library
Aerospace Material Specifications (AMS) -- not held by the Library
Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports) -- see below for access
SAE Technical Papers -- see below for access

Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports) - 2004/2005

SAE Handbook
The Library provides hardcopy access to the SAE Ground Vehicle standards (J-Reports) only for 2004 and 2005 in the SAE Handbook held at Bundoora library.

Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports) from other years, AS, AMS, SAE Technical Papers

If you need Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports) from other years, or any Aerospace Standards (AS) or Aerospace Material Specifications (AMS), search the SAE Mobilus database to find what you want, then place a Document Delivery request for it.

If you need SAE Technical Papers, we have access to most of them from 1906 via SAE Mobilus. If you need a Technical Paper we do not subscribe to, you can place a Document Delivery request for it.

SAE Mobilus
SAE is your one-stop resource for standards development, events, and technical information and expertise used in designing, building, maintaining, and operating self-propelled vehicles for use on land or sea, in air or space.

Standards Subject Guide

RMIT Standards Subject Guide
Search and find Australian and international standards on a variety of subject areas. Learn how to request standards not available at RMIT.

Library subject guides

Engineering

Australian and International Standards

International Automotive and Transport Standards

Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports) - 2004/2005

Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports) from other years, AS, AMS, SAE Technical Papers

Standards Subject Guide