Chat with us, powered by LiveChat Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law and Justice

This guide provides access to major Australian and international legal resources and help on searching them.

Sources for international law

HeinOnline

Includes international resources including International Law Association Reports and International Treaties and Agreements.

Thomson Reuters Westlaw

Westlaw is a collection of full-text UK, US, Canadian, European and other international legal material. Some Australian material is included. Journals, law reports, law reviews, legislation and case law are covered.

UN Audiovisual Library of International Law
Includes historical archives, lecture series, and research guides on international law.

UN Digital Library

includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. 

International Criminal Court
​The International Criminal Court (ICC) investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and the crime of aggression.

International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
An independent judicial body established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to adjudicate disputes arising out of the interpretation and application of the Convention. The Tribunal is composed of 21 independent members, elected from among persons enjoying the highest reputation for fairness and integrity and of recognised competence in the field of the law of the sea.

International Environmental Agreements Database
This Project seeks to foster analysis of international environmental agreements (IEAs) by providing a "single source" repository for most information related to IEAs and the evaluation of their influence. Initiated in 2002, the Database seeks to provide negotiators, treaty secretariats, scholars, students, and interested citizens with a reliable list of all historic and current IEAs.

International Court of Justice
The principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). It was established in June 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations and began work in April 1946.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law 

Dictionary of International Human Rights Law 

A Concise Encyclopedia of the United Nations: Second Revised Edition 

Encyclopedia of Global Justice 

 

United Nations Treaties Collection

The Secretary-General of the United Nations is the depositary of more than 560 multilateral treaties which cover a broad range of subject matters such as human rights, disarmament and protection of the environment. Includes the UN Treaty Series and the League of Nations Treaty Series

World Treaty Index

The WTI seeks to create a comprehensive database of all known bilateral and multilateral treaties formed throughout the 20th century.

The Australian Treaties Database

This is an on-line resource for researching treaties to which Australia is a signatory, or where Australia has taken other treaty action.

Australian Treaties Library (Austlii)

International Committee of the Red Cross

The work of the ICRC is based on the Geneva Conventions of 1949, their Additional Protocols, its Statutes – and those of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement – and the resolutions of the International Conferences of the Red Cross and Red Crescent.

Sources for International Business Law

HeinOnline

Has International Resources incl International Law Association Reports and International Treaties and Agreements 

Brill online

Includes Journals and E-books on International Law subjects including International Commercial, Trade & Investment Law. 

Kluwer Arbitration Blog (Thomson Reuters Westlaw)

Published by Kluwer Law International and provides information and news on international arbitration. 

WTO Legal Texts (World Trade Organisation)

Access full text copies of legal texts and agreements, including the Uruguay Round agreements.

WTO Documents Online

Contains official documents of the WTO's councils and committees as well as a range of other resources, such as trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications, videos, audio and photos. 

Find WTO Dispute Cases 

Locate dispute cases by year, agreement, country or territory, status, or subject. Provides summary of disputes and key dates of dispute resolution process. 

WTO Analytical Index

This index can be used to find Jurisprudence or decisions by agreement / article.

Key Journals

ICFAI Journal of International Business Law

The Journal of international business & Law 

Business law international