All guides: Planning, Politics and Public Policy: Newspapers, Statistics and Research

Standards

Search and find Australian and international standards on a variety of subject areas. Learn how to request standards not available at RMIT.

Standards

Find and search for information on patents.

News and Newspapers

Quick access to Australian and some international online newspapers and news services.

News and newspapers

Statistics

Australian statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics
The Australian Bureau of Statistics is an excellent source of Australian statistical information.
Search Census data for statistics on local government areas.

Browse the Statistics tab for information on topic areas.
Use the search bar on the top right of the ABS website to find specific reports.

International statistics

IMF eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, and so much more.
OECD iLibrary
Full access to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development statistical databases.
UNESCO Information Services
This public information source provides access to 110 databases, 66 information services and a range of additional publications including the full text of official UNESCO documents and the Photobank.
UN Statistics Division
This provides commodity and International Trade statistics by country. You can search the UN Comtrade database (commodity imports/exports to or from specifiable countries or the world) under Statistical Databases, or browse the Publications.
UN Wire
This database provides information on the environment, crime, economics, women's issues and human rights, via the UN daily news sheet.
World Bank
Provides development indicators for over 200 countries.
World Trade Organisation
Contains International Trade statistics in the Statistics database from the Documents and Resources tab. There are also International Trade Statistic reports, which contains downloadable Excel tables, as well as other yearly reports going back to 1998.

Research Repository

RMIT Research Repository
Free, searchable access to RMIT University research publications. The repository's aim is to increase the exposure and impact of the research output of RMIT University staff by gathering it together and making it available to the world.

Theses

How to find theses published at RMIT University, other Australian universities, and overseas. Also covers how to get and submit theses at RMIT University.

Finding and obtaining theses

Additional Research Guides

Use the following library guides to help you with different aspects of your research.

How to do a literature review
Maps out each step involved in writing a literature review.
Law and Justice
This guide provides access to major Australian legal resources. It also provides tips on searching for different types of legal resources.
Research Evidence for Grants and Promotion
A 'how to' guide on information and tools for capturing evidence of, and describing, research outputs.
Research metrics
Information and resources to demonstrate impact using research metrics.
Starting your literature review
Information providing guidance on starting a literature review, including resources, techniques and approaches to searching the literature and writing the review.
Staying current with your research
Utilise databases and web alerting services to keep up-to-date with the latest research.
Strategic publishing
This guide provides information on applying strategic measures when considering publishing, promoting and tracking your research.

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Open Educational Resources (OERs)
Providing open license and useful materials in learning & teaching activities from prestigious universities around the world to support students and academics at RMIT University and other universities in Vietnam.

Library subject guides

Planning, Politics and Public Policy