The Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) and Therapeutic Guidelines (TG) (formerly eTG Complete) should both be referenced as online e-books. Please follow the instructions below for referencing these in the APA 7th style.
Follow:
and
and
For more details, also see:
and
This medication can... ("Amlodopine," 2022).
Maintaining dosage... ("Therapeutic drug monitoring," 2022).
Individuals with this illness... ("Acute rheumatic fever," 2021).
The Direct Quotation of Material Without Page Numbers page of the APA Style website says, quote (accessed 10 March 2023):
"To directly quote from written material that does not contain page numbers (e.g., webpages and websites, some ebooks), provide readers with another way of locating the quoted passage. Any of the following approaches is acceptable; use the approach that will best help readers find the quotation.
- Provide a heading or section name. It is okay to abbreviate a long or unwieldy heading or section name.
- Provide a paragraph number (count the paragraphs manually if they are not numbered).
- Provide a heading or section name in combination with a paragraph number."
Since AMH and Therapeutic Guidelines do not have page numbers, the in-text citation for the specific part that is being directly quoted can include a heading or section name, paragraph number or a combination of both that the part appears in, as a substitute for a page number. See examples below.
"Calcium channel blockers may further depress myocardial function..." ("Amlodopine," 2022, Precautions section).
"Generally, trough concentration is used..." ("Therapeutic drug monitoring," 2022, Practical aspects section, para. 2).
"Acute rheumatic fever is a multisystem inflammatory illness..." ("Acute rheumatic fever," 2021, Introduction to acute rheumatic fever section, para. 1).
The Book/Ebook References page on the APA Style website says, quote (accessed 10 March 2023):
"If the ebook is from an academic research database and has no DOI or stable URL, end the book reference after the publisher name. Do not include the name of the database in the reference. The reference in this case is the same as for a print book."
The Chapter in an Edited Book/Ebook References page on the APA Style website also similarly says, quote (accessed 10 March 2023):
"If the chapter is from an academic research database and has no DOI or stable URL, end the book reference after the publisher name. Do not include the name of the database in the reference. The reference in this case is the same as for a print book chapter."
Since AMH and Therapeutic Guidelines are accessed via library databases (with your RMIT login) and they have no DOI or stable/permanent URL, the reference ends after the publisher name. See examples below.
Acute rheumatic fever. (2021). In Therapeutic Guidelines. Therapeutic Guidelines Limited.
Amlodopine. (2022). In Australian Medicines Handbook. Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd.
Therapeutic drug monitoring. (2022). In Australian Medicines Handbook. Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd.
The Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) and Therapeutic Guidelines (TG) (formerly eTG Complete) should both be referenced as online e-books. Please follow the instructions below for referencing these in the Vancouver style.
Follow:
and
For more details, also see:
and
and
and
This medication can... (1)
Maintaining dosage... (2)
Individuals with this illness... (3)
The B. Parts of Books on the Internet > Citation Rules with Examples section (sub-heading: 'Location (Pagination) for a Part of a Book on the Internet') of the Chapter 22 Books and Other Individual Titles on the Internet page on the Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 2nd edition says, quote (accessed 10 March 2023):
"For books without page numbers
- Give location as the total number of screens, paragraphs, lines, or bytes of the part, whichever is most practical; precede the total with the word about and place it in square brackets, as [about 15 screens]
- If the part is printed out, precede the page total with the word about and place it in square brackets, as [about 10 p.]
- End location information with a period placed outside the closing bracket"
Since AMH and Therapeutic Guidelines do not have page numbers, the in-text citation for the specific part that is being directly quoted can include the approximate total number of screens that the part is part of, as a substitute for a page number. See examples below.
"Calcium channel blockers may further depress myocardial function..." (1 [about 4 screens].)
"Generally, trough concentration is used..." (2 [about 2 screens].)
"Acute rheumatic fever is a multisystem inflammatory illness..." (3 [about 10 screens].)
1. Amlodipine. In Australian Medicines Handbook [Internet]. Adelaide (Australia): Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2022 [cited 2022 Jun 6]. [about 4 screens]. Available from: AMH Online.
2. Therapeutic drug monitoring. In Australian Medicines Handbook [Internet]. Adelaide (Australia): Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2022 [cited 2022 May 3]. [about 2 screens]. Available from: AMH Online.
3. Acute rheumatic fever. In Therapeutic Guidelines [Internet]. North Melbourne (Australia): Therapeutic Guidelines Limited; 2021 [cited 2022 Sep 15]. [about 10 screens]. Available from: Therapeutic Guidelines.
The Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) and Therapeutic Guidelines (TG) (formerly eTG Complete) should both be referenced as online e-books in EndNote.
The following examples show how to reference a page from AMH and TG in EndNote using the APA 7th style.
Go to References > New Reference then fill in the following information in their respective fields:
Acute rheumatic fever. (2021). In Therapeutic Guidelines. Therapeutic Guidelines Limited.
Reference Type: Electronic Book Section
Year: 2021
Title: Acute rheumatic fever
Book Title: Therapeutic Guidelines
Publisher: Therapeutic Guidelines Limited
Once you save the reference, this is what it looks like in your EndNote library:
Acute rheumatic fever. (2021). In Therapeutic Guidelines. Therapeutic Guidelines Limited.
Amlodopine. (2022). In Australian Medicines Handbook. Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd.
Reference Type: Electronic Book Section
Year: 2022
Title: Amlodopine
Book Title: Australian Medicines Handbook
Publisher: Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd
Once you save the reference, this is what it looks like in your EndNote library:
Amlodopine. (2022). In Australian Medicines Handbook. Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd.
The Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) and Therapeutic Guidelines (TG) (formerly eTG Complete) should both be referenced as online e-books in EndNote.
The following examples show how to reference a page from AMH and TG in EndNote using the Vancouver style.
Go to References > New Reference then fill in the following information in their respective fields:
Amlodipine. In Australian Medicines Handbook [Internet]. Adelaide (Australia): Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2022 [cited 2022 Jun 6]. [about 4 screens]. Available from: AMH Online.
Reference Type: Electronic Book Section
Author: Amlodipine, (NOTE: ensure you put a comma at the end to treat as a page name)
Title: In Australian Medicines Handbook [Internet]
Place Published: Adelaide (Australia)
Publisher: Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2022 [cited 2022 Jun 6]. (NOTE: ensure you put a full stop at the end)
Pages: about 4 screens
URL: AMH Online
Once you save the reference, this is what it looks like in your EndNote library:
1. Amlodipine. In Australian Medicines Handbook [Internet]. Adelaide (Australia): Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2022 [cited 2022 Jun 6]. [about 4 screens]. Available from: AMH Online.
Acute rheumatic fever. In Therapeutic Guidelines [Internet]. North Melbourne (Australia): Therapeutic Guidelines Limited; 2021 [cited 2022 Sep 15]. [about 10 screens]. Available from: Therapeutic Guidelines.
Reference Type: Electronic Book Section
Author: Acute rheumatic fever, (NOTE: ensure you put a comma at the end to treat as a page name)
Title: In Therapeutic Guidelines [Internet]
Place Published: North Melbourne (Australia)
Publisher: Therapeutic Guidelines Limited; 2021 [cited 2022 Sep 15]. (NOTE: ensure you put a full stop at the end)
Pages: about 10 screens
URL: Therapeutic Guidelines
Once you save the reference, this is what it looks like in your EndNote library:
1. Acute rheumatic fever. In Therapeutic Guidelines [Internet]. North Melbourne (Australia): Therapeutic Guidelines Limited; 2021 [cited 2022 Sep 15]. [about 10 screens]. Available from: Therapeutic Guidelines.
Explore other Library subject guides for more information:
