Skip to Main Content

Theses

How to find theses published at RMIT University, other Australian universities, and overseas. Also covers how to get and submit theses at RMIT University.

Need help? Ask the Library!


You can contact us
by chat, email or phone

Visualise Your Thesis (VYT) Competition

A gleaming gold winners trophy cup takes center stage, surrounded by a festive explosion of colorful celebration confetti and sparkling glitter, symbolizing victory and success in a competition

RMIT is thrilled to announce the 2024 Visualise Your Thesis (VYT) Competition

Create a 60-second, eye-catching video explaining your research to a general audience for a chance to win a cash prize. It is your opportunity to be creative, develop digital literacy and visual storytelling skills.

The first prize winner’s entry will also go into the international Visualise Your Thesis competition.

Interested? Find out more!

Image © TensorSpark - stock.adobe.com

About the RMIT theses collection

The RMIT theses collection consists of the research outcomes of RMIT Masters by Research and Doctor of Philosophy candidates (including theses and dissertations), who have successfully completed their degree.

Digital theses/
exegeses		 June 2006 onwards Available from the RMIT Research Repository
Microfiche copies Selected, 1966-2002 Ask the Bundoora Library Concierge staff

Coursework and minor theses generally are not kept in the Library. Contact the relevant School for these items.

Project-based research dissertations

At RMIT, a Masters by Research or Doctor of Philosophy candidate undertaking project-based research submits a product or artefact(s) (or a record thereof) and a dissertation which outlines and defines the purpose and theoretical basis of the work. There may also be a recording of an oral presentation made by the candidate where required.

Finding RMIT theses and dissertations

The RMIT Research Repository contains digital copies of RMIT Masters by Research and Doctor of Philosophy degree outcomes. To find them:

  1. Go to the RMIT Research Repository and and click on the Theses option.

 

  1. This will present a list of all RMIT University theses listed in the Research Repository.

 

You can refine your search results using the facets on the left hand side of the search results list. 

 

Alternatively, you can limit your search to the Dissertations & Theses search scope and enter in some keywords, e.g. photonics

 

Obtaining ​/ accessing an ​RMIT thesis or dissertation

To access pre-2006 RMIT theses/dissertations for research or study purposes, RMIT students or staff can submit a request for Document Delivery who will supply a copy of the work.

  • Locate the thesis using LibrarySearch (NOTE: They will display a location of Bundoora Storage in LibrarySearch. )
  • Record the title and call number
  • Email your request for digitisation to libdoc@rmit.edu.au OR submit the request using the online Document Delivery request form

Note that conditions apply for requests from other institutions.

 

Please note also that there are a number of art-related theses in the RMIT Swanston Library Special Collection room. The LibrarySearch record will indicate Swanston Thesis Collection and the call number will include the THR prefix. Please follow the link below for instructions on how to access theses from the Special Collection.

https://rmit.libguides.com/library-special-collection/procedures

Subjects: Research