Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Staying current with your research

Using alerting services to receive latest published information on your research topic.

Journal alerts

Researchers often have some favourite journals that are relevant to their research interests and will want to be alerted as new issues are published. This can involve browsing through a list of journals via a database and setting up the alert from there. Alternatively, it can involve searching for the journal title in an index and then saving the search as an alert.

Alerts for full text journals
To confirm that a journal is available through RMIT University Library search  e-journals A-Z or LibrarySearch and then select 'view online'.  Select the database at 'full text available at', and then within the resource choose the email alert or RSS function.

Alerts for journals covered by indexes
If a journal is not available in full text via RMIT University Library you can try setting up an alert via a database that indexes the journal. To identify which database indexes a journal, look up the journal in Ulrich's Periodical Directory and go to the Abstracting & Indexing tab. Go to the relevant database via LibrarySearch, do a publication search, and then save the search as an alert.

Table of Contents Alerts
Most journals provide alert services to keep you up to date with their content. Traditionally these have been called ToC alerts and will send you the table of contents each time a new issue of a journal is published. This enables you to see what is being published and take steps to view any articles of interest. The alert will not include the full text of articles. The link below for JournalTOC's is an example of an aggregator.

Publisher websites
Publisher websites generally  can provide updates to their table of contents.You can find links to the table of contents RSS feed or e-mail alert on each journal's website. You will likely need to sign-up for an account with the publisher.

BrowZine
BrowZine is a journal database available through the Library that offers a rich and mobile friendly interface. It allows you to browse, read, save and monitor scholarly journals.

Example of databases and journal collections

Most databases will require you to register before receiving email alerts.