All guides: Visual Merchandising: Images

Image Databases and Websites

Search for images in Library databases.

Images found online may be protected by copyright. Check their terms of use or copyright statements to make sure that you can download and use the images for educational purposes.
See the Library’s copyright guide for what you need to know about copyright.

ARTstor (now part of JSTOR database)
Artstor Digital Library provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Oxford Art Online
Search a range of Oxford's art reference works, including images.

Trove
From the National Library of Australia. Search for picture, photographs from a range of Australian libraries.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Library of Congress prints and photographs
The collection includes photographs, prints, drawings, posters and architectural and engineering drawings, mostly focused on the United States but with some international scope.
VADS: Visual arts database service
More than 6000 images covering many areas of late 20th century design, with the emphasis mainly on British design. It also contains many original and unique images that record many of the Design Council's own activities.

RMIT Collections

RMIT Design Archives
The RMIT Design Archives includes collections in many areas of Victorian design, representing historical and contemporary practices in architecture, automotive, ceramics, design education, fashion and textile design, graphic design, illustration, industrial design, interior design and landscape architecture.
RMIT Digital Collections Architecture Images
Digitised plans and images of Australian and international buildings.
Includes digitised 35mm slides from the School of Architecture & Design, focusing on Australian architecture and a range of images from Edmond & Corrigan.
Contemporary Vietnamese Art Collection
The artworks collected and displayed in the RMIT University Vietnam online gallery come from established and mid-career Vietnamese artists.
RMIT University Art Collection Online
Comprises of over 1500 artworks of modern and contemporary art in Australia (70% available online)
RMIT Digital Image Collections
RMIT images collection includes snapshots of Buildings, events and activities, campus life and students, general and eSimulations.

Image collections

Find image collections by browsing subject categories in LibrarySearch.

George Johnson, Structures 9, 1983, acrylic on canvas, RMIT Art Collection.

Image use and copyright

Check the copyright statement or license conditions before using an image. You may be able to download, re-use or adapt an image under some Creative Commons licenses.

RMIT copyright advice

RMIT copyright advice covers what you need to know as a student. Copyright guides are available for different types of content sources, such as images.

Library subject guides

Visual Merchandising

Image Databases and Websites

RMIT Collections

Image collections

Image use and copyright

RMIT copyright advice