All guides: Digital Media, Games and Animation: Key Resources

Recommended databases for research

Databases are collections of resources, primarily journal articles, but they can also contain conference papers, videos, ebooks, reports, images and more. Many databases specialise in a specific subject area, so you'll know when you're searching the database you will find material relevant to your studies.

Find resources on digital media, games and animation.

Search using the main keywords that describe your topic. For example: digital gaming history

Try the advanced search options for combining keywords and refining your search to find the most relevant results.

Research Library (ProQuest)
Includes art and photography resources, mix of scholarly journals and professional and trade publications. A good starting point to your research.
Taylor & Francis Online
Extensive coverage for photography, digital media, games and animation. Includes books.
Wiley Online Library
Full text articles covering digital media, games, animation and photography. Includes books.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest)
Journal articles and more from 1973 onwards. Disciplines include graphic design, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, and more.
Oxford Art Online
Art history, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design decorative arts, interior design, drawing, painting, sculpture.
IEEE Xplore (IEE/IEEE)
Electrical, electronic and communication engineering, computer science and computer systems engineering.
ACM: Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library
Full text of every article ever published by ACM.

Resources for creating

Adobe Creative Cloud
Students in some RMIT courses and programs get automatic access.
Awesome Design Tools
Comprehensive list of tools including such as font libraries, stock photos, colour pickers, accessibility tools, animation tools, logo design, and more.
Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels (Alexander Street)
Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.

GDC vault
In-depth design, technical and inspirational talks and slides from the influencers of the game development industry, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conferences.
ACCESS NOTE: Due to licensing restrictions, only 25 RMIT users may access GDC Vault at a time. If you experience trouble accessing the database, please try again later.
ACCESS NOTE: Due to licencing restrictions, only 25 RMIT users may access GDC Vault at a time. If you experience trouble accessing the database, please try again later.

The Gnonom Workshop
Collection of training videos to support visual effects artists, concept designers, sculptors, illustrators, game designers and more.
Pro Sound Effects Online Library
Pro Sound Effects (PSE) was founded in 2004 by Douglas Price and is based in New York City. The company provides sound effects resources to media producers. Its continually growing library currently contains more than 120,000 sound effects.
Smithsonian Global Sound for libraries
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.

For more databases in your subject area, use the A-Z Databases tool, choose Art and Design, and review the details of the databases before making a selection.

Library subject guides

Digital Media, Games and Animation

Recommended databases for research

Resources for creating