Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Logistics and Supply Chain Management

This guide will provide you with starting points for finding information on Logistics and Supply Chain Management.

Company and Industry Information Databases

Tips For Finding Company Information

When looking for information about a company, consider both information from the company itself (e.g., the company website, press releases, etc.) as well as information about the company written by others (e.g., newspaper articles, analyst reports, journal articles). Finding information about a company includes the following steps:

  • Find the company website. Look at the 'about us' page for history, facts and figures. Look for sections for investors or media/press.  Use information from the company website carefully and watch for bias or an overly-optimistic interpretation of factual data.
  • Is the company you are researching a public or private company? Public companies listed on Australian or International Exchanges are required by law to report on their activities and release key data. Private / Unlisted companies are not required to release information about their activities - it may be difficult to find private company information.
  • If the company is public, find relevant annual reports to shareholders. Search for analyst reports. These sometimes contain an SWOT analysis.
  • Search for news, magazine and other periodical articles for information.  This may be the only way to find information on private companies.
  • Identify competitors.

Follow these steps to find information:

1. Search for the company's website

2. Search the databases listed in the 'Company and Industry databases' tab for a company report

3. Search for newspaper articles on the company in databases listed under the 'Newspaper articles databases' tab on this page.

4. Search for journal articles and other types of publications on the company in databases listed under the Company and Industry databases tab.  
Tip: Make sure you are searching for the Company's official name.  A brand name might not be the company's official name.