Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chiropractic

Find information on Chiropractic and Manipulative Therapies.

About 'The Green Books'

D.D. Palmer, who is known as the Founder of Chiropractic, and his son, B.J. Palmer created and developed the Palmer College of Chiropractic. 'The Green Books' are a collection of 41 chiropractic books, which were originally published by the Palmer College of Chiropractic, and written by various authors from 1906 - 1966. 'The Green Books' are aptly named due to their distinctive dark green binding. They are a significant collection to the chiropractic field tracing the evolution of the profession.


More information about 'The Green Books' is available from the David D. Palmer Health Sciences Library. The David D. Palmer Health Sciences Library at the Palmer Chiropractic College in Davenport, Iowa holds the special/historical collection about the founding and development of chiropractic.

Other guides include the life and work of D.D. Palmer, his son B.J. Palmer and wife Mabel Palmer, and their son David Palmer:

'The Green Books' Collection


Digital Collections

Some of the 'Green Books' are part of the Library's Digital Collections.


Special collection

RMIT  University Library has some rare Chiropractic books which are located in the Special Collection. They are not for loan, but are available for viewing. Please enquire at the Swanston Library Enquiries Desk. The titles are available via LibrarySearch.

Find out more about the RMIT Special Collection.

See a full list of chiropractic and osteopathy books in the RMIT Special Collections: Chiropractic.

Early American Manual Therapy - Version 5.0

Manual Therapy is the use of the hands to diagnose and treat illness and maintain health.

This collection of books and articles documents the early years of manual therapy in America.

The Early American Manual Therapy collection includes texts from the formative years of osteopathy, chiropractic, naturopathy, neuropathy, massage, mechanical vibration, and magnetic healing in America.