Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Online

Endnote Online (formerly known as EndNote Web) is the online version of the EndNote Desktop software program.

Collect References

There are numerous ways to add references to your library:

You can export from LibrarySearch, Google Scholar and some databases. At this stage, many databases do not provide direct export into EndNote Online. Therefore Importing references is used as an alternative.

Importing References involves saving records from the database as a file and importing this file through your EndNote Online library.

You can search through library catalogues (in particular, RMIT LibrarySearch) using Online search.

When exporting and importing citations are not feasible, it is possible to use Manual entry.

Capture is a 'plug in' feature that will create a pre-filled reference for a website.

Video produced and kindly shared by EndNote Training.

Exporting from LibrarySearch

To add a single reference from LibrarySearch

  1. Login into LibrarySearch
  2. Do a search for a topic, and then click on a title
  3. Below the record, under save record as, select EndNote Online.

To add multiple references from LibrarySearch

  1. Return to your original results pages
  2. Select a number of (star next to) titles. These will be automatically added to My e-shelf
  3. Click on My e-shelf in the top right corner, select the titles you want to export and select Push to EndNote Online option in top right drop down menu.

Google Scholar

To insert references from Google Scholar into EndNote Online:

​1. Navigate to Google Scholar from the library homepage. If prompted, log in with your RMIT student / staff number and password. Logging on in this step will authenticate you as an RMIT student / staff member, so you can access the full-text of our online resources.

2. At the top right corner, click on Sign in  and log in with your RMIT student / staff e-mail and password. You're now signed into your Google Scholar account -- you can Sign Out when finished. Logging on in this step will enable you to export multiple references simultaneously into your EndNote library.

Note: If you receive the following message at this step - 'Something went wrong, Sorry, something went wrong there' - go directly to Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com.au/) and log in via the above Sign in button again using your RMIT student / staff e-mail address and password.
 

3. Search on a topic in Google Scholar.

4. Click on the white star  for each reference you want to export into your EndNote library. This will save the reference to My Library.

5. When a reference has been saved to My Library, the white star changes colour to blue   . Clicking on the blue star removes the reference from My Library.

6. Click on My Library on top right corner.

 
In here, you'll see a list of all the references you've saved in Step 5. Tick the references you want to export into your EndNote library.

7. Press the Export  button and select EndNote. If you're using Chrome as a browser, it'll ask you to save the 'citations.enw' file, which you will then open. If you're using Firefox or Internet Explorer, it'll give you the option to either save or open the file.

NOTE: You EndNote library must be open for this step.​

 

8. Your Google Scholar references have now been exported into EndNote Online

Tip: Always check the accuracy of your references after they have been exported to EndNote.

Exporting from Databases

This method provides a quick and easy way to export references of records from online databases that support it. However, most databases do not provide direct export into EndNote Online. Web of Science, EBSCO and CINAHL are some of the databases where direct export option is available.

  1. Select the database and do a search
  2. Select the necessary references and export
  3. Select your option under export to: select 'EndNote Web' and click OK
  4. Enter your EndNote Online login details if necessary.

Your References should appear under All My References (in no particular order). To retrieve your new references use the drop down arrow to Sort by and click on Added to Library - newest to oldest.

Importing from Databases

Many databases do not provide direct export into EndNote Online. Importing references involves saving records from the database as a file and importing this file into your EndNote Online library.

To import a reference from a database:

      1. Mark desired records
      2. Look for a Save or Export option in the database
      3. If given options, choose full records and EndNote format (.ris or .enw)
      4. Save the file. This usually goes into the Downloads folder on your computer but you can also save it to a location you can easily find).

When the file is imported into EndNote Online you will need to choose a filter to allow the import to occur. This filter applies to the database you used, or the file type downloaded. There are hundreds of database filters provided in EndNote Online. Consider creating a favourites list of those filters or databases you commonly use. To do this select Collect - Import References -Select Favourites.

Once the records are saved in a file go to EndNote Online and import them:

  1. From the collect tab, select Import References
  2. At file, select Choose File, and navigate to where the file is saved
  3. At Import Option select the database filter (Consider adding to favourites)
  4. Select a group to assign the imported reference
  5. Click on Import.