We run regular online presentations by guest speakers on different aspects of research. Recordings of past webinars are also available.
A collaboration between the Indigenous Research Network and the RMIT University Library, hear from Professor Gary Thomas, Pro Vice Chancellor Indigenous Education, Research and Engagement, and Professor Matt Duckham, Director Information in Society Enabling Impact Platform (EIP), as they discuss and explore considerations and ethical implications inherent in open research practices involving Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
In addition, we’ll gain insights from Indigenous researchers as we delve into the principles of ethical research. We’ll explore how to respect and uphold the integrity of Traditional Knowledge and cultural heritage in data sharing, publishing, citation practices and the ethical navigation required when working with Indigenous knowledge.
The Kaleide Theatre is located in Building 8, 360 Swanston Street, Melbourne.
Date, time & place: May 1, 2.00pm - 3.30pm at the Kaleide Theatre, and live streamed.
Image by Alexandra_Koch from Pixabay
Alerting services are an excellent way to keep informed of the latest information on your area of research or interest. Alerting services are available from subscription databases, LibrarySearch, publisher’s web pages and other web resources.
Alerting services utilise different methods of delivery. These include receiving alerts via email or by accessing an RSS feed.
A topic, author or search alert allows you to receive alerts for articles that match your research interests. You will be alerted as relevant items are added to a database or electronic resource. This type of alert allows you to receive the results of pre-programmed searches periodically. It involves doing a search in the database, looking at the search history and then saving the search as an alert.
A citation alert can be used to be alerted when someone cites a particular article. This type of alert utilises databases that have a citation search function, i.e. they allow you to see who is citing a particular article. It usually involves registering first, identifying the item and then saving as a citation alert.
Most journals provide alert services to keep you up to date with their content. Traditionally these have been called ToC alerts and will send you the table of contents each time a new issue of a journal is published. This enables you to see what is being published and take steps to view any articles of interest. The alert will not include the full text of articles.
LibrarySearch allows signed-in users to receive alerts when there is an update to a saved search query. This could include title, keyword or author.
The alerts in these databases automatically search for the latest records matching your saved search. This involves conducting a search using relevant search terms and lists, then saving the search as an alert. You may be prompted to register if you have not done so previously. Give your search a name and set a notification frequency.
Article citations alerts notify you by email whenever a journal article or publication you have chosen has been cited by a new publication that has been added to the database. Look for 'Create Citation Alert' to create alerts. Databases such as Scopus and Web of Science provide step by step instruction on how to set up alerts.
Note: to take full advantage of Google Scholar functionality it is recommended to use a personal email account.
How to save searches and set alerts in Scopus (2:13 mins) by Scopus - Research tools (YouTube)
Save searches and create alerts in Web of Science (2:16 mins) by Web of Science Training (YouTube)
Conferences are an important part of staying current with intellectual and academic developments and discussion. There are diverse websites that will alert you of upcoming conferences. Papers are sometimes available via conference websites or accessible via databases.
The Library has a team of Teaching and Research Librarians available to assist staff and students in the use of library services and resources. In terms of staying current with the literature they are able to:
This Library guide by RMIT University Library is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 licence, except where otherwise noted. All reasonable efforts have been made to clearly label material where the copyright is owned by a third party and ensure that the copyright owner has consented to this material being presented in this library guide. The RMIT University logo is ‘all rights reserved’.