All guides: Medical Radiations: Key resources

Databases

Databases are collections of resources; many databases specialise in a specific subject area. You will find relevant research and peer-reviewed sources in the databases below.

Search tips

Login to LibrarySearch or one of the databases below, then search using keywords that describe your topic. Refine your search results to peer-reviewed journals, books, online books, book chapters or videos.

The following tips will also work in Google Scholar and most databases.

Use OR between words to find any of your keywords.
Group OR words using brackets.
Find "exact phrases" with quotation marks.
Add an asterisk to part of a word to find different endings and plurals.
There is a default AND relationship between search terms separated by a space.

Example searches:

COVID* OR corona* OR SARS-CoV-2
"secondary bacterial pneumonia"
(COVID* OR corona* OR SARS-CoV-2) "secondary bacterial pneumonia"

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
A leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature; authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications.
PubMed
Evidence-based medical literature. Select Findit@RMIT to find full-text access to articles.
Cochrane Library
Including: Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstract reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register.
CINAHL Complete with Full Text (EBSCO)
A comprehensive database for nursing & allied health journals.
EMBASE (Elsevier)
Medical imaging, medical radiation, and nuclear medicine journals. Select FindIt@RMIT to find full-text documents.
IEEE Xplore (IEE/IEEE)
Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. Topics include medical radiation, medical imaging, nuclear science, ultrasonics, and magnetics.

IEEE video tutorials provide tips and techniques to improve your searching outcomes.

SPIE Digital Library
Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers. Peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings covering biomedical optics, medical imaging, neurophotonics, and advanced photonics.

SPIE user guide

UpToDate
Over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties including radiology and nuclear medicine.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Peer-reviewed journals, books, and conference proceedings. Includes author affiliations, and citation impact. Select FindIt@RMIT to find full-text documents.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Leading scholarly literature in the fields of science and technology.
Select FindIt@RMIT to find full text documents.

Anatomy and physiology

Our Library has many online atlases of human anatomy and physiology in addition to these specialist tools featuring digital images and animations. These tools are free to RMIT students and staff to access:

Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures)
Three-dimensional animations illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures Clinical videos and text by leading specialists.

Help using Anatomy.tv

Anatomedia
'Construct' the body by studying regions and systems. 'Deconstruct' the body through dissection and imaging. Each module has interactive text, image overlays and clinical questions.

To view help videos,select Introduction

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Clinical skills videos and systems-based physical examination techniques.

Clinical decision support

Diagnostic Imaging Pathways (DIP)
DIP is an Australian evidence-based and consensus-based educational and decision support resource for clinicians, to guide them in their choice of the most appropriate diagnostic examinations in the correct sequence for a range of clinical cases. Each pathway includes effective dose range, pathway diagram, images, teaching points, references and information for consumers.

iRefer
Evidence-based guidelines published by the Royal College of Radiologists (RCR)(Great Britain). Recommendations for everyday use of clinical imaging services; common clinical problems seen in primary and emergency care; practical advice on the right test at the right time. Select Guidelines, then Adult, Paediatric, or Asymptomatic; search by keyword, specialty, and modality.

Quick Links

Further Support

Study Support
Book a one-on-one consultation with an academic skills advisor or librarian. Connect with a peer mentor to help you with your course. Discover a range of tools to support your study.

Your feedback and suggestions

Send us your feedback about this guide.

Library subject guides

Medical Radiations

Need help? Ask the Library!