Skip to main content

Indigenous Resources

Find information on indigenous culture, education, environment, film, health, law, land rights, reconciliation, sport, stolen generations.

How this guide works

This guide introduces you to resources related to the Indigenous Studies specialisation.

Click on each subject tab to view a selection of books, journals, databases and websites related to that subject.

You will need to search more widely for additional material so conduct a LibrarySearch to find books, journal articles, newspaper articles, audiovisual material and much more.

Key resources

Reports

The Apology to the Stolen Generations of Australia

Bringing Them Home

Closing the Gap

Overcoming Indigenous Disadvantage: Key Indicators

Recognition of Aboriginal Customary Laws

Royal Commission into Aborignal Deaths in Custody

Databases

Databases are collections of journal articles, e-books, newspaper articles, reference materials and more. The following databases are great places to begin your search for Indigenous material.

Indigenous Collection (Informit)

This full text database brings together material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific. Subject coverage includes cultural studies, education, health, land rights, politics, sociology and the arts.

Informit

Major Australian full-text database covering all subject areas and is particularly useful for Australian Aboriginal material. Refer to subject pages within this guide for specific Informit databases.

ProQuest

This database provides international subject coverage so is excellent for locating material on worldwide indigenous issues.

Taylor & Francis Online

Search across thousands of full-text journals, e-books and reference works in this database which comprehensively covers worldwide indigenous issues.

Wiley Online Library

Access is provided to over 1400 full text journals with coverage including both Australian and worldwide indigenous materials.

LibrarySearch

Log in first for full access (new window)

 

All our books, plus millions of journal articles in one search. (Results open in new window or tab)

Ngarara Willim Centre

The Ngarara Willim Centre is a friendly environment for study and cultural interaction, committed to encouraging Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in accessing programs at RMIT and continuing that encouragement throughout their studies.

Keelbundoora Scarred Tree & Heritage Trail

Keelbundoora Scarred Tree

The Keelbundoora Scarred Tree and Heritage Trail is a self-guided walk created to recognise and preserve the ecological and cultural significance of remaining vegetation on RMIT’s Bundoora campus, which sits on Aboriginal (Wurundjeri) land.

The ancient river red gums are estimated to be up to 800 years old; among the 94 trees, six scarred trees are registered under the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act (ATSIA), three are canoe trees and another three are food implement trees.