In order for Microsoft Word, EndNote Desktop and the Windows operating system to work properly with each other, specific compatibility and system requirements need to be met: http://endnote.com/
In MS Word, the 'EndNote 20' tab should appear at the top of the page within the toolbar.
If the 'EndNote 20' tab is missing from MS Word's toolbar, it is because:
In MS Word: go to File > Options > Add-ins > select Disabled Items from the Manage drop-down menu > press Go. If the EndNote CWYW function is disabled, it will appear in the Disabled Items pop-up window. Place a tick next to any EndNote item(s) and press Enable.
OR
In MS Word: go to File > Options > Add-ins > select COM Add-ins from the Manage drop-down menu > press Go. If the EndNote CWYW function is enabled but needs to be shown, it will appear in the COM-Add-ins pop-up window. Place a tick next to the EndNote Cite While You Write option and press OK.
OR
In MS Word: go to File > Options > Customize Ribbon > ensure that the EndNote 20 option under 'Main Tabs' on the right is ticked (checked) > press OK.
OR
If you are using your own personal device:
In MS Word: go to File > Options > Trust Center > press Trust Center Settings > Add-ins > ensure that ALL options are unticked (unchecked) > press OK.
OR
If you are using your own personal device:
If you are still experiencing this issue, please see: https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-Windows-CWYW-tools-are-disabled-and-missing-in-Word?language=en_US
Before you begin working on your MS Word document, it is best to first select your referencing style.
1. Open your MS Word document and click on the EndNote 20 tab.
2. Select your referencing style from the Style drop-down list, e.g. APA 7th. If your style is not in the list, click on Select Another Style within the Style drop-down list and search for your style there.
You can now insert references from your EndNote Desktop library into your MS Word document.
1. In your EndNote Desktop library: highlight (select) the reference(s) you want to insert. (Tip: to select multiple references, hold down the CTRL button on your keyboard and click on all the references you want to insert.)
2. In MS Word: put your cursor where you would like to insert the reference(s), and add a space. Click on the bottom part of the Insert Citation button, then click on Insert Selected Citation.
3. The in-text reference(s) has been inserted into your Word document. The full reference has also been automatically created in the reference list at the end of the document containing the full details of that in-text reference(s).
Alternatively:
1. In MS Word: put your cursor where you would like to insert the reference(s).
2. In your EndNote Desktop library: highlight (select) the reference(s) you want to insert, then Tools > Cite While You Write (CWYW) > Insert Selected Citation(s).
1. Go to your MS Word document.
2. Click on the bottom part of the Insert Citation button, then click on Insert Citation.
3. Enter a keyword that appears within your EndNote Desktop library references (e.g. author last name, title, abstract).
4. Click Find and a list of matching search results will appear. Then select the reference(s) you want to insert and click Insert. (Tip: to select multiple references, hold down the CTRL button on your keyboard and click on all the references you want to insert.)
5. The in-text reference(s) has been inserted into your Word document. The full reference has also been automatically created in the reference list at the end of the document containing the full details of that in-text reference(s).
When you want to quote an author’s idea rather than paraphrase it, you need to insert the page number the quote appears on within the in-text citation.
1. Place your mouse cursor on the in-text citation you want to add a page number to.
2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) 
. Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.
3. In the Pages field, enter only the page number, e.g. 41. Click OK.
4. The page number now appears within your in-text citation. Page numbers will only appear IF your referencing style allows it (e.g. APA 7th, RMIT Harvard). To remove the page number from the citation, delete it from the Pages field.
You may sometimes want to integrate the author’s name within the main text of your document rather than put it in brackets at the end of the sentence. For example: According to Bertran (2018), it was recently discovered that… In this case, you need to hide the author’s name and display only the year (and page number, if applicable) within the in-text citation.
1. Place your mouse cursor on the in-text citation of which you want to hide the author name.
2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) . Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.
3. Click the Formatting drop-down list within the Edit Citation tab, then select Exclude Author. Click OK.
4. The author name is now hidden within your in-text citation, and only the year shows. To show the author name once again, select Default instead of Exclude Author.
If there is a misspelling within an in-text citation or bibliography reference in your MS Word document:
1. Place your mouse cursor on the citation which has the misspelling.
2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) . Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.
3. Click on Edit Reference 
to the right of the reference. This takes you to the reference in your EndNote Desktop library. Correct the spelling and save the reference (File > Save).
4. Go back to your MS Word document. Click Update Citations and Bibliography 
to update the changes within your document.
5. Your MS Word document now contains the correct spelling.
1. Place your mouse cursor on the citation you want to delete.
2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) . Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.
3. Click the arrow of the Edit Reference 
to the right of the reference, then select Remove Citation. Press OK. This removes the reference from your MS Word document only.
4. Click Update Citations and Bibliography to ensure that the change has definitely gone through in your document.
5. That instance of your in-text citation has been removed from your MS Word document. If that was the last instance of that in-text reference, its corresponding bibliography reference has also been removed from your document.
There are two options for creating a standalone bibliography for MS Word format using EndNote Desktop.
1. Go to your EndNote Desktop library. Ensure that your reference style is selected.
2. Highlight (select) the references you want. (Tips: to select multiple non-consecutive references, hold down the CTRL button on your keyboard and click on all the references you want in your bibliography. To select multiple consecutive references, hold down the SHIFT button on your keyboard, and click the first and last references you want in your bibliography. To select all references, press CTRL + A on your keyboard.)
3. Click File > Export. The Export File name box will appear.
4. From the Save as Type drop-down list, select Rich Text Format (*.rtf).
5. From the Output style drop-down list, select your chosen referencing style (e.g. APA 7th).
6. Press Save.
1. Go to your EndNote Desktop library. Ensure that your reference style is selected.
2. Highlight (select) the references you want. (Tips: to select multiple non-consecutive references, hold down the CTRL button on your keyboard and click on all the references you want in your bibliography. To select multiple consecutive references, hold down the SHIFT button on your keyboard, and click the first and last references you want in your bibliography. To select all references, press CTRL + A on your keyboard.)
3. Click References > Copy Formatted Reference OR right-click on selected references and select Copy Formatted Reference.
4. In MS Word: paste the references into the document by Home > Paste OR right-click and select Paste.