All guides: Education and Teacher Preparation: Key resources

Recommended databases for research

Databases are collections of resources, primarily journal articles, but they can also contain conference papers, videos, eBooks, reports, images and more. The following databases specialize in education research and resources, so you'll know when you're searching that you will find material relevant to your studies.

Australian Education Index
Indexes and abstracts articles from Australian published and unpublished documents from 1978 onwards. Subject coverage includes curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audio-visual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
FAMILY: Australian Family and Society Abstracts Database (Informit)
Compiled by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, this database covers research, policy and practice issues on subjects such as: child development, adolescence, marriage and divorce, adoption and foster care, child abuse, domestic violence, family law, housing, and health policy.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals. Subjects include: assessment best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, and teacher education.

For more databases in your subject area, use the A-Z Databases tool, choose Education, and review the details of the databases before making a selection. 

Statistical and demographic information

My School
This website, from the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority, contains demographic and assessment data from every school in Australia.
United Nations Statistics Division: Learning and Education
The United Nations collects data from member countries and reports on education topics such as literacy, school attendance, and educational attainment.
OECD: Education
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development gathers extensive international data, in areas such as student outcomes, teaching practices, and trends shaping education, in order to assist governments worldwide with the development and implementation of education policy.

Quick Links

Further Support

Study Support
Book a one-on-one consultation with an academic skills advisor or librarian. Connect with a peer mentor to help you with your course. Discover a range of tools to support your study.

Your feedback and suggestions

Send us your feedback about this guide.

Library subject guides

Education and Teacher Preparation

Need help? Ask the Library!

Recommended databases for research

Statistical and demographic information

Quick Links

Further Support

Your feedback and suggestions