All guides: Country Analysis: Key resources

Recommended databases

MarketLine
Search and browse geographic content and refine information by region or country. Includes country profiles with PEST (political, economic, social, and technological factors) analysis, PESTLE analysis (addition of legal and environmental) also included for key countries.
Passport
This is a market research tool and as such collates information relevant to marketing and industry across key countries. Provides country profiles, insight into global cross-industry trends, consumers, economies and finance analysis. Interactive dashboards can be used to visualise trends, forecasts and macroeconomic scenarios. The Economies tab in the top menu provides background information on different countries.
Business Searching Interface (EBSCO)
Provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. Includes searchable Country Reports, SWOT Analysis, PESTLE analysis, and Country Risk Reports. In some cases, includes 10-year forecasts for Country Risk Reports. Provides access to country reports by several research firms including PRS Group, MarketLine, CountryWatch, and IHS. Search includes EBSCO Business Source Complete.

Find reports in EBSCO Business Searching Interface:

Click on the ‘Country Reports’ link in the Browse menu on the right-hand side
Type the name of a country and click Browse.

OECD iLibrary
The online library for the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, it contains thousands of sources in a variety of formats relating to a broad range of subjects including industry, development, economics and finance, education, social issues, governance and trade and is searchable by theme and country. (Replaces SourceOECD).
IBIS World
IBISWorld provides Australian industry and company reports. The industry reports contain key industry statistics, market size, industry trends, and growth and profit forecasts for a 5-year outlook period. Also includes Chinese industry reports.

Newspapers

Factiva
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including full text coverage of Australian newspapers, same-day news wires, and company reports. Investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data are also provided. Coverage of individual publications varies widely. Factiva provides access to significant news items from almost 8000 international sources and 9000 key Web sites. Access limited to 5 concurrent users.

Find Country Profiles in Factiva:

In Source, Select ‘Group: Major Aust. Publications’ and click ‘remove’ so that is displays ‘All Sources’
In Subject: add ‘Country Profiles’
In Region: select a country, OR type a country in the Free Text Search box
Click Search

Quick Links

Further Support

Study Support
Book a one-on-one consultation with an academic skills advisor or librarian. Connect with a peer mentor to help you with your course. Discover a range of tools to support your study.

Vietnam Library Study Support

Check out the Library study support resources and contacts for Vietnam students.

Your feedback and suggestions

Send us your feedback about this guide.

Library subject guides

Country Analysis

Need help? Ask the Library!