Image searching
Intute have a useful online tutorial for searching images on the internet. This tutorial covers copyright issues, which are important to consider when using images from the internet. The Library subscribes to a number of image databases, both subscribed and public access. Some of these resources allow use for educational purposes.
![]()
One of the topics covered by this tutorial are images made available via a Creative Commons license. People who upload their photos to flickr for example can use of these under the Creative Commons license. Flickr allows you to search for items with Creative Commons licensed content.
Search hints
The RMIT Library catalogue allows you to search the collection for books, journals, audiovisual material and so on.The catalogue is is the central source of information and access to resources held by the library.
If items are not held at RMIT, you are able to check Other library catalogues. See in particular Libraries Australia for a comprehensive listing of where items are held throughout Australia.
Click on the links to browse the catalogue using subject headings:
Browse the shelves using these call numbers:
Relevant texts
- Music: A way of life for the young child. - Bayless, K. & Ramsey, M.
- Music, young children and you - Bridges, D.
- The creative arts: A process approach for teachers and children - Edwards, L.
- Forman, G. “Different media, different languages” in - Katz, L. & Cesarone, B. (Eds.) Reflections on the Reggio Emilia approach. Perspectives (from ERIC) ECE Monograph series no. 6
- Isbell, R. (2003). Creativity and the Arts with young Children.
- Kolbe, U. (2001). Rapunzel’s supermarket: All about young children and their art.
- Miche, M. (2004). Weaving Music into Young Minds
- Schirrmacher, R. (1998). Art and creative Development for young children.
- Warren, K. (1999). Hooked on drama: Theory and practice of drama in early childhood.
- Wright, S. (ed). (2003). Children and Meaning Making in the Arts.
Suggested article databases
The Library's Search it module allows you to browse education databases, select and search multiple database and save the results of searches. See the Library's guide for more information using Search it.
- A+ Education (Informit)
Australian focus on issues in education and related fields, including research, policy administration, teacher education, curriculum, educational psychology. Indexes journal articles, conference papers, reports, theses and book chapters. - Art Full-Text
Key database for all aspects of art. - Education Journals (ProQuest)
International coverage of primary, secondary, and higher education and related topics. - ERIC - CSA

International research database covering all aspects of education. Indexes journal articles, conference papers, reports, theses and book chapters. Full text of ERIC documents available online as well as microfiche from 1990 onwards at Bundoora Library. - Expanded Academic ASAP
Multidisciplinary database providing access to information from journals across a wide range of subject areas, including the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Journal article
Culpan, A. & Macmillan, M., (2006). Preservice teachers challenge boundaries: Celebrating multi-modal learning. Journal of Art Education Victoria Autumn/Winter 2006, Vol 8, No 1, pp. 14-16.
Featured website

Boorai -- The Children's Art Gallery
Boorai, the word for ‘baby’ or ‘child’ in the Wurundjeri language, is the title given to The Children’s Art Gallery, a permanent venue in which to study and appreciate the thoughts and perceptions of children as expressed through their art.
Guides and tutorials
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait