Featured websites
Your favourite links?
Have you discovered a fantastic website relating to Landscape Architecture? Please share your find and submit the link here!
Links to image resources
- ArchNet : Digital Library - Images of contemporary buildings, historical monuments and general views with special focus on the Islamic world.
- ArtServe - Australian National University Image database contains images of art & architecture from the Mediterranean Basin, Japan and India.
- Asian Historical Architecture: An Historical survey - Thousands of online photos of historical architecture in Asia from China, Japan, North & South Korea, Cambodia, Thailand, Nepal, India, Pakistan, & Afghanistan
- Cities and Buildings database - The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web
- Collage - Art and Architectural images from the Guildhall Libraries and Art Gallery, London
- Emporis Buildings - The world's largest publicly available database on architectural and building data.
- Google Earth - Awards layer from the Australian Institute of Architects.
- Google Image Search - available on the Google search engine.
- Great Buildings Online - Links to information on buildings, architects and architectural types.
- Houses of the Future (Olympic Park, Sydney) - Showcasing sustainable design excellence.
- JISC Digital Media, formerly TASI - Links to architecture, art & design image sites worldwide.
- Mataphihi - New Zealand database providing a selection of images, sounds and objects from New Zealand archives, galleries and museums.
- Melbourne's Great Buildings : Walking Australia - Database of images and information about Melbourne's buildings. Searchable by 'Architect', 'Name' or 'Location'.
- Picture Australia - The National Library of Australia's online Picture gallery. Contains over 10,000 images of Australian Buildings. Fully searchable by keyword and advanced searches.
- Project Awards Gallery - The Australian Institute of Architects online architecture gallery 'architecture.com.au projects' is the largest online databases of architecture in Australia. The site is based around the prestigous Australian Institute of Architects National Architecture Awards, which have been running since 1981. The gallery currently contains just approximately 2,000 projects that have been entered in the awards program from 1981 onwards.
- RIBApix - a growing database dedicated to providing you with exceptional and unique images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects, the world’s most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture.
- Society of Architectural Historians - Image Exchange - World survey of historical images.
- SPIRO: Architecture Visual Resources Library - Resource of the University of California. Search by period, style, name & place]
- Visual Arts Data Service - More than 6000 images covering many areas of late 20th century design, with the emphasis mainly on British design from 1945. Also contains a large number of original and unique images that record many of the Design Council's own activities.
Image databases
![]()
RMIT University library subscribes to several image databases below that provide access to historical art & architecture images and information. Click on the links below and login with your NDS login details.
Commons
A commons or Creative Commons is described as an organization that has
defined an alternative to copyrights by filling in the gap between full
copyright, in which no use is permitted without permission, and public
domain, where permission is not required at all. Creative Commons'
licenses let people copy and distribute the work under specific
conditions, and general descriptions, legal clauses and HTML tags for
search engines are provided for several license options. (Source accessed 20 Feb 2009)
Description
Loading content... please wait




Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait