What is a database?
Databases give subject access to information found in journals, conference papers, newspapers, reports and other publications. Some databases provide the full text of publications online, others only index journals or provide summaries of the articles. In many cases you can link to the full text by clicking on the
button.
Access: The databases listed below are available to RMIT students and staff on and off campus. (NDS login and password are required for remote access.
More information is available on the Searching our databases guide.
Articles via Databases
Looking for journal articles about an landscape architect, architectural firm, public space or landscape project? Start your search for information here by using the databases listed below.
Key databases:
- AHB: Australian Heritage Bibliography (Informit)
Provides access to information on Australia's natural and cultural environment and is produced by the Australian Heritage Commission. - ARCH - Australian architecture database (Informit)
Australian and New Zealand architecture, landscape architecture, interior design and urban planning articles - AVERY - Index to architectural periodicals
International coverage of architecture, interior and landscape design, building, city and regional planning, and archaeology literature. Published in the US. - ENVIROnetBASE
E-Book collection covering all environmental topics. - EVA : Environmental Abstracts (Informit)
Indexes Australian and overseas journal articles on subjects such as air and water pollution, environmental protection, recycling, town planning, waste management and heritage. - STREAMLINE: Australia's Natural Resources Database (Informit)
Contains more than 25,000 records on all aspects of natural resource management. Produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd and sponsored by the Land and Water Resources Research and Development Corporation and the Urban Water Research Association of Australia.
Other recommended databases
- Art Full-text
Indexes major art and design journals from around the world, some full text articles but no graphics or illustrations. - CSA Illumina
An international host system with many databases across a range of subjects. Recommended databases for landscape architecture are: ARTbibliographies Modern, Plant Science and Water Resources Abstracts. - EBSCO Business Source Premier
Provides full text access to many environment and planning journals. - Expanded Academic ASAP
Contains scholarly articles in most subject areas, including some full text architecture and design journals. Indexes the journal Architecture Australia, full-text availability from 2000 - GeoBase
GeoBase is hosted on Engineering Village 2.and covers indexes literature in geography, geology and ecology. - Google Scholar
- Informaworld
- Informit
Key database for Australian content. Mulitdisciplinary database providing full-text and references to articles, conference proceedings, ebooks and more. - JSTOR
Access archival material from more than 350 scholarly journals. - Research Library (Proquest)
Scholarly articles in most subjects including landscape architecture related material. - SAGE Journals Online
- ScienceDirect
International coverage of science, technology and social science. Includes articles on technical and social aspects of issues of relevance to landscape architects. - Web of Science
Research-level science, social science, and arts and humanities literature. - Wiley Interscience
Access is provided to hundreds of full text journals. Blackwell titles are now included in this database.
Pre-Prints, Open Archives
Pre-prints (also known as e-prints) are resources which are freely available on the internet before they are published and generally after they have been submitted for publication and undergone the peer-review process. Pre-print publications can be found in some databases subscribed to by RMIT University such as DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals.
Open archives are also free collections of articles and other resources and may include document types not intended for print publication.
Pre-print (e-print) collections with useful planning resources include:
Australian National University e-prints
University of Melbourne e-prints
University of Queensland e-prints
More pre-print collections can be found by clicking here.
Search the News

Search and watch news clips from TV on Informt TVNews or browse the full-text of major Australian and world newspapers on Factiva.
- TVNews (Informit)
Indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries with links to digitised video content. - Factiva
Contains 9,000 sources globally, including academic and trade journals, company information, - Academic Research Library
A full-text database which includes major US newspapers.
Browse today's paper
Browse the full-text of all major Australian newspapers on the News Pages section of Factiva.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait