Databases are collections of resources, primarily scholarly journal articles, but they can also contain conference papers, videos, e-books, reports, images and more. Many databases specialise in a specific subject area, so when you are searching in a database you will find material relevant to your studies.
Search using the main keywords that describe your topic. For example: "Children's stories" AND Girls
Try the advanced search options for combining keywords and refining your search to find the most relevant results
For more databases in your subject area, use the A-Z Databases Tool in LibrarySearch, choose a subject area such as Education, Humanities or Social Sciences, and review the details of the databases before making a selection.
Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA)
Regarded as Australia's most prestigious children's and young adult literature award, the Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) runs the annual Book of the Year Awards. The CBCA also organises and promotes Book Week, a week-long celebration of books in schools and public libraries, and runs Reading Time, a website with children's book news and reviews.
Inside a Dog - The Inky Awards:
Inside a Dog is a community hub for bookish teens where they can share their love of reading. It is run by the State Library of Victoria, and is the home of the Inky Awards, Australia’s only teen choice book awards. Note: The awards did not run in 2020 or 2021, but you can view past winners below.
Young Australians Best Book Awards (YABBA):
The Young Australians Best Book Awards (YABBA) aims to provide children with a voice within the Australian children’s book industry. Their goal is to have children recommend, read, rate and reward their favourite Australian books,
Awards from around Australia for Children's and Young Adult Literature
This guide from La Trobe University lists some major Australian awards.
Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC):
The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is a division of the American Library Association (ALA). They provide awards in a range of categories relating to children's and young adult literature.
CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals:
The UK’s longest running children’s book awards, recognising outstanding reading experiences created through writing and illustration in books for children and young people.
Database of Award-winning Children's Literature (DAWCL)
A searchable database of 125 awards across the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland.
Study Support
Book a one-on-one consultation with an academic skills advisor or librarian. Connect with a peer mentor to help you with your course. Discover a range of tools to support your study.
Send us your feedback about this guide.
