There are numerous ways to add references to your library:

You can export from LibrarySearch, Google Scholar and some databases.

Importing References involves saving records from the database as a file and importing this file through your EndNote Online library.

You can search through library catalogues (in particular, RMIT LibrarySearch) using Online search.

When exporting and importing citations are not feasible, it is possible to use Manual entry.

Capture is a 'plug in' feature that will create a pre-filled reference for a website.

To add a single reference from LibrarySearch

1. Login into LibrarySearch
2. Do a search for a topic, and then click on a title
3. Below the record, under save record as, select EndNote Online.

To add multiple references from LibrarySearch

1. Return to your original results pages
2. Select a number of (star next to) titles. These will be automatically added to My e-shelf
3. Click on My e-shelf in the top right corner, select the titles you want to export and select Push to EndNote Online option in top right drop down menu.

To insert references from Google Scholar into EndNote Online:​

​1. Navigate to Google Scholar from the library homepage. If prompted, log in with your RMIT student / staff number and password. Logging on in this step will authenticate you as an RMIT student / staff member, so you can access the full-text of our online resources.

2. At the top right corner, click on Sign in  and log in with your RMIT student / staff e-mail and password. You're now signed into your Google Scholar account -- you can Sign Out when finished. Logging on in this step will enable you to export multiple references simultaneously into your EndNote library.

3. Search on a topic in Google Scholar.

4. Click on the white star  for each reference you want to export into your EndNote library. This will save the reference to My Library.

5. When a reference has been saved to My Library, the white star changes colour to blue   . Clicking on the blue star removes the reference from My Library.

6. Click on My Library on top right corner.

7. Press the Export  button and select EndNote. If you're using Chrome as a browser, it'll ask you to save the 'citations.enw' file, which you will then open. If you're using Firefox or Internet Explorer, it'll give you the option to either save or open the file.

NOTE: You EndNote library must be open for this step.​

8. Your Google Scholar references have now been exported into EndNote Online

Tip: Always check the accuracy of your references after they have been exported to EndNote.

Many databases do not provide direct export into EndNote Online. Importing references involves saving records from the database as a file and importing this file into your EndNote Online library.

To import a reference from a database:

      1. Mark desired records
      2. Look for a Save or Export option in the database
      3. If given options, choose full records and EndNote format (.ris or .enw)
      4. Save the file. This usually goes into the Downloads folder on your computer but you can also save it to a location you can easily find).

When the file is imported into EndNote Online you will need to choose a filter to allow the import to occur. This filter applies to the database you used, or the file type downloaded. There are hundreds of database filters provided in EndNote Online. Consider creating a favourites list of those filters or databases you commonly use. To do this select Collect - Import References -Select Favourites.

Once the records are saved in a file go to EndNote Online and import them:

1. From the collect tab, select Import References
2. At file, select Choose File, and navigate to where the file is saved
3. At Import Option select the database filter (Consider adding to favourites)
4. Select a group to assign the imported reference
5. Click on Import.

There may be times when exporting and importing of references into EndNote Online is not possible. In this case a manual entry may be needed.

To add a new reference:

1. Click on New Reference under the Collect tab
2. Choose the appropriate Reference Type using the drop down menu
3. Fill out the necessary fields
4. The reference can be placed into a group by scrolling to the bottom of the page and clicking on the arrow beside groups;
5. Your new reference will be saved automatically

Online Search feature can be used to retrieve records from library catalogues and some databases. The option is available to create a favorites list by clicking Select Favorites.

1. Click on Online Search under the Collect tab
2. Select the required catalogue (eg. RMIT_University_Library) using the drop down menu
3. Click on Connect
4. Enter your search terms
5. Select retrieve all records or select a range of records to retrieve
6. Click on search and then retrieve
7. Mark the necessary records and choose your group from the drop down menu.

Capture is able to scan the bibliographic details stored on a web page and create a pre-filled reference. 

The Capture button will appear on the EndNote Online browser once the EndNote Online Plug-in has been installed. To install the Plug-in, click on Download Installers under the Options tab and follow the instructions.

1. Go to the individual record after a search is conducted
2. Click on Capture button
3. Complete or modify the fields in the new reference window
4. Click on the Save to button.

To edit a reference:

1. Click on the reference title
2. Click on the field you wish to edit and make your changes
3. To save the changes click or tab outside that field
4. You are able to revert the changes by clicking the Revert Reference button.