On this page you will find several open textbooks along with other useful materials in Education. These materials include teaching resources for pre-service teachers as well as resources for learning subject content.
The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to offer content that might be of interest to teachers and learners who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is kept up-to-date regularly so that we welcome any feedbacks about the content featured on this page or recommendations of content that are not available here.
EdX - Open courses from leading universities on the world - Online education courses covering a broad range of topics from educational policy and history to curriculum design and teaching techniques. Provides some case studies in teaching.
FutureLearn - Online teaching courses to support teachers' professional learning and development.
MITCourseWare - See also topics related to subject areas, e.g. Mathematics, Science, Humanities (includes History, Language, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Religion), Social Science (which includes Geography, Economics, Legal Studies, etc.).
OpenLearn - Free online courses, articles, videos, podcasts, games to grow your learning plus details of Open University programmes
Digital Commons Network - Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Includes peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other resources.
Curtin Research Repository - Curtin's institutional repository is an open access digital collection. Includes digital theses, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, etc.
DigitalCommons@University of Nebraska – Lincoln - All content is free and full-text. However, some content is restricted to campus connections and some is embargoed from all public view.
DOAJ - The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) provides access to many access journals.
JSTOR Open Access Books and Journals - JSTOR provides access to millions of academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many disciplines.