All guides: Chiropractic: Key resources

Recommended databases

Databases are online collections of resources, primarily scholarly journal articles. They can also contain conference papers, e-books, reports, standards, images, videos and more. Many databases specialise in a specific subject area, so when you are searching in a database you will find material relevant to your studies.

Index to Chiropractic Literature
Database of peer-reviewed chiropractic journals.
PubMed
Includes evidence-based literature on medical, biomedical science and health topics from the MEDLINE database, life sciences journals and e-books. Also includes new references not yet indexed in MEDLINE. Chiropractic is covered.
AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (EBSCO)
AMED, compiled by The British Library, indexes articles from about 600 mainly European journals in the fields of complementary and alternative medicine, such as chiropractic, osteopathy, physiotherapy, acupuncture, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care and speech and language therapy.
CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
A comprehensive database for nursing & allied health journals, including chiropractic.
Cochrane Library
A medical and healthcare collection of databases that provides high quality, independent evidence-based information to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes three databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Aimed at clinicians providing healthcare and at those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels of healthcare, such as researchers and policy-makers. Chiropractic is covered.
UpToDate
This resource is designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to full text articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators. Chiropractic is covered.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
The most comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, sports facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, allied health, occupational health and therapy. Chiropractic is included.

Anatomy and physiology

Primal Pictures (anatomy.tv)
Derived from real human data, this image databases provides over 5,000 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations, videos and more. Three-dimensional animations illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Clinical videos and text by leading specialists supplement animations and models. 'Chiropractic Spine' under 'Clinical Specialties' is covered.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Based on Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, this online guide maintains the evidence-based origins of the text and provides careful attention to clinical accuracy, and to the range of patient types profiled in the series.
An@tomedia
‘Construct’ the body by studying regions and systems. 'Deconstruct' the body through dissection and imaging. Each module has interactive text, image overlays and clinical questions.

Multidisciplinary

Scopus (Elsevier)
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed and multidisciplinary database containing scientific, medical, technical and social science scholarly literature, including content on chiropractic and manipulative movement therapies. Bibliographic or indexing-only database, so access the full-text via the FindIt button.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
A multidisciplinary, full-text database of peer-reviewed scholarly literature in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Chiropractic is covered.
Web of Science
A thorough, peer-reviewed and multidisciplinary database containing over 21,000 prestigious and high-impact scholarly research journals in the world. Subject coverage spans over 250 science, social sciences and humanities disciplines. Bibliographic or indexing-only database, so access the full-text via the FindIt button. Chiropractic is included.

Anatomy & physiology

For resources on anatomy and physiology, including recommended databases, please see the following library subject guide:

Anatomy and Physiology

Learn how to search Index to Chiropractic Literature Database

Searching the Index to Chiropractic Literature Database (VIDEO)
Note: if the audio does not play, please press Rewind.
Transcript for Searching the Index to Chiropractic Literature database (DOC)

Quick Links

Further Support

Study Support
Book a one-on-one consultation with an academic skills advisor or librarian. Connect with a peer mentor to help you with your course. Discover a range of tools to support your study.

Your feedback and suggestions

Send us your feedback about this guide.

Library subject guides

Chiropractic

Need help? Ask the Library!