Skip to main content

Legal Research Methods

This guide provides access to major Australian legal resources. It also provides tips on searching for different types of legal resources.

How to find legislation

LawOne provides access to full-text legislation for all Australian jurisdictions. You can also search for bills, second reading speeches and explanatory memoranda.

Find the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth)

  1. From the TimeBase homepage select LawOne -- Advanced search -- Search all
  2. Search terms: Term -- competition and consumer, Type -- exact phrase 
  3. Area to be searched: Scope -- legislation titles, database -- current, Jurisdiction -- Commonwealth
  4. Click on Competion and Consumer Act 2010

Find the Competion and Consumer Amendment Bill (No.1)  2011, including the second reading speech and explanatory memorandum.

      1. Select LawOne -- Advanced search -- Search all

      2. Search terms -- competition

      3. Area to be searched: Scope -- legislation title, database -- bills, jurisdiction -- Commonwealth

      4. Click on the Competion and Consumer Amendment Bill 2011

      5. Under Additional Information, select the full text of the Bill, the second reading speech, explanatory memorandum 

Foreign legislation

Off-campus: Use RMIT MyDesktop http://www1.rmit.edu.au/students/mydesktop

Find United States legislation on WestlawNext.

Find UK legislation on Westlaw UK.

Historical legislation

Search TimeBase Point-in-Time Services for historical versions of legislation in

  • Commonwealth Criminal Law
  • Competition and Consumer law
  • Corporations
  • Employment
  • GST 
  • Income Tax
  • Intellectual Property 

Other legislation databases

AustLII
Find legislation for all Australian jurisdictions.

CCH IntelliConnect
Find legislation on specific subjects.

Staying current

LawOne Legislative Alerts
Follow the changes in an act, regulation or bill by setting up an email alert, RSS feed or legislative activity report