Skip to main content

Mathematics and Statistics

Find information on mathematics, statistics

Search Engines

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches scholarly publications from university, government and academic publisher sites. The Google Scholar link provided here authenticates you as an RMIT user and so provides access to a range of RMIT-subscribed e-journals.

 

Microsoft Academic
Includes post-search filtering options not currently available in Google Scholar.

 

BASE logo

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
Focusing on academic repositories, BASE provides sophisticated search functionality not available in Google Scholar. The Advanced Search option allows the user to specify where the search term occurs (eg. Title, Author, Subject Headings, Publisher). Results can be filtered by Document Type (eg. thesis). The Browsing option filters by discipline using the library Dewey Decimal Classification Code. Dewey results can also be filtered by Document Type.

 

Semantic Scholar
Machine indexing of papers in computer science and neuroscience. At this stage some coverage of mathematics and geospatial science is also included and there are plans to extend the discipline scope to include biology, physics and the remaining hard sciences. Citations and references in the text are used to identify links between papers as well as the most influential papers. Records also highlight key phrases found in similar papers.

Suggested Websites

American Mathematical Society
Homepage of the American Mathematical society

arXiv
Open access to 549,079 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Australian Mathematical Society
Homepage of the Australian Mathematical Society, the national society of the mathematics profession in Australia.

 The Calculus Page

Provides materials for students of calculus (including animations and sample exams) as well as instructor resources. Also includes links to other relevant websites and online portals.

The European Mathematical Information Service
Offered by the European Mathematical Society, includes links to an electronic library as well as links to databases, projects and organisations.

Front for the Mathematics ArXiv
An electronic print archive of new research literature in the areas of physics, mathematics, computer science. The purpose of the site is to distribute this literature worldwide, to store it permanently, and to keep it freely available.

Math Forum Internet Mathematics Library
Links to web resources by topic, education level and resource type.

Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC)
A subject classificatiobn scheme useful for searching MathSciNet database.

Probability.net
Tutorials on all aspects of probability theory.

The R Project for Statistical Computing

Trove
The single search covers print and online theses as well as journal articles and books, enabling a comprehensive picture of a researchers’ public work.

ZentralblattMATH
World's longest running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics.  Search for articles, conference papers and formuale.