Skip to main content

Mathematics and Statistics

Find information on mathematics, statistics

What is a Database?

Databases give subject access to information found in journals, conference papers, books, reports and other publications. Some databases provide the full text of publications online, others only index journals and provide summaries of the articles.

In many cases if the full text is not available in the database you can link to the full text by clicking on the Find It button.

A key database will provide comprehensive coverage of a subject area. An e-journal collection will only provide access to the publications of an individual publisher.

More information:

Searching Databases

Staying Current

Key Databases for Mathematics & Statistics

SCOPUS (Elsevier)
Includes over 19 500 peer reviewed journals in the physical, life and health sciences. 100% coverage of  Science Direct and PubMed journals. NOTE that indexing of new papers appears to be slower than PubMed. Cited reference searching from 1996.

Web of Science (ISI)
A multidisciplinary index with a wide coverage of mathematics journals. It is an electronic version of the Science Citation Index.

MathSciNet (AMS)
This is a full text database offering reviews to the world’s mathematical literature.

Zentralblatt MATH
The Zentralblatt MATH database contains almost 3 million references to articles from over 3500 journals from 1868 to present.

arXiv
Open access to 549,079 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

ProQuest
General multidisciplinary database. Coverage includes a more limited number of peer reviewed journals in the sciences plus magazines and trade publications.

Other Databases

e-Journal Collections

Oxford Journals
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
A multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 1,500 journal titles, including 90 mathematics and statistics journals.

SIAM: Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Journals
A full text database containing research articles on mathematical methods and their applications.

SpringerLink
Large collection of full-text science journals online.

Wiley Online Library
Access to 335 full-text journals.

'State of the art' Reviews

Review articles published in primary journals or in specialised review periodicals contain useful references with critical comment and comparison of research reported. 

Finding a review paper can save time and effort when doing a literature search.

Is the Journal Peer Reviewed?

Locating Journals

To locate a particular journal or e-journal - use LibrarySearch Advanced Search

 

If the journal is not held at RMIT - we can deliver an electronic copy of an article to your desktop. Document Delivery Services provide access to resources not held in RMIT Library collections, cross campus copies and a postal loans service to remote and external students.