Skip to main content
Skip to content
Library subject guides
Back to Library
Databases and videos
Search this Guide
This guide provides direct links to electronic specialised databases, videos, images and referencing information relevant to Art History and Theory with many direct links to e-titles in courses taught
Databases and videos
Lynda.com online tutorials
Streaming video databases
Newspapers and news
Images - Art
Referencing and Plagiarism
Referencing examples - Easy Cite Referencing Tool (RMIT) & Endnote
Harvard referencing guides
Harvard: referencing images
Art history & theory 1
Art History and Theory 2
Art & Politics of the Environment
Art, music & the brain
Makers and materials
Contact and more Help
Essential art databases
Research Library (ProQuest)
Includes art and photography resources, mix of scholarly journals and professional and trade publications. A good starting point to your research.
Art Full Text (EBSCO)
Most extensive full text art database for fine, decorative and commercial art, and photography. Hundreds of journals include Leonardo & October (with exception for current year embargo).
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (Informit)
Includes full text of Australian art journals, such as Artlink, Art Monthly, Art & Australia and others. Covers broad range of resources in social and cultural subjects.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
Excellent coverage for art, culture, media and philosophy. Provides back issues of many journals, unlike other databases. Includes books.
Art and Architecture Archive (Proquest)
Full text of archival copies of trade journals for fine art, cultural history and architecture, such as Art Monthly (1976-) and Aperture (1952-).
Other art databases
Journals and books; includes Visual Art Research and Leonardo. Also covers also film, theatre, philosophy and literature.
Wiley Online Library
Full text with good selection of books and journals in art, photography, museum and heritage studies.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest)
Excellent for finding designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops. Articles are from relevant journals and newspapers. Not a full text database.
Taylor & Francis Online
Full text with extensive coverage for art and photography. Includes books.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest)
Bibliographic database with abstracts. Comprehensive coverage for modern and contemporary art. Includes journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
Oxford Art Online
Online reference for all aspects of the visual arts. Includes images.
Comics and graphic novels
Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels (Alexander Street)
Over 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this art form.
Asian Art Archives (AAA)
Asian Art Archives
Collection of over 50,000 records, accessible free of charge from the AAA’s space and via the Collection Online.
Lynda.com online tutorials >>
Oct 10, 2017 5:17 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem