Staying current after the initial literature search is an important feature of any research project. There are a number of ways of achieving this.
 

1.  Saving a search

Most indexing databases provide the option to set up a ‘search alert’ in which your search is automatically re-run on a regular basis and any new results are then emailed to you. Examples include Web of Science Core Collection, Scopus, SciFinder, Informit, and Inspec. For more information, check the Help page of the relevant database.

2.  Latest issues of journals

RMIT Library subscribes to a number of publisher’s full text journal databases in addition to journal article indexing databases like Web of Science Core Collection and Scopus. These publisher databases usually provide a ‘journal alert’ option for the journals they publish. With a 'journal alert' the latest contents pages of specified journals are emailed to you. Look out for links to ‘Alerts’, ‘TOC Alerts’, ‘My Profile’ or ‘Save Search’ options on the database web pages.

The slight time-lag involved in indexing and abstracting a journal article means that a new article will be available more quickly through a publisher’s full text database, particularly as many of these provide pre-press web access. 

Examples of publisher journal databases include:

A limited number of publisher's full text journal databases also allow you to set up a search alert - check the help page of the database.

3.  Google Scholar

New journal articles also appear on Google Scholar more quickly than they do in indexing databases.

It is possible to search on a topic or author in Google Scholar and then select the Create Email Alert option to have new results emailed to you.

More information – Google Scholar Help : Email Alerts

4.  Citation alerts

Cited reference databases such as Web of Science Core Collection and Scopus allow you to set up an alert to be notified when any new articles cite a key article in your area of research. Look out for the option to 'Create Citation Alert' or 'Set alert' when viewing the article record. As mentioned above, Google Scholar also has this option.

5.  Combining a search with a journal of interest

A useful way to stay in touch with developments in a particular field is to search an indexing database more broadly than your specific topic, limit the search to journals of interest, and save this as a search alert.

In the example below, a search on catalysis has been limited to a number of Nature publications.

6.  Preprints, discussion lists and conferences

Other options include following and contributing to discussion lists, using pre-print archives and attending conferences.